Soldering Pipe - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-16-2008, 01:37 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

soldering pipe

I am not a plumber by trade but I have soldered pipe many times and for the first time I cant get the the solder to stick. IT always seems to have a little pin hole when I turn the water on.I was wondering if there is different grades of solder. I know to clean the pipe and the connector good and flux it but I am trying to do something as simple as cap an existing line hot & cold water and it will not hold no matter how good I clean the pipe and cap.I did it 4 times and it leaked everytime.There was paint on the pipe but I made shore it was clean 4 times .I bought the solder at home depot and it has a red label on it and I was wondering if it was a weaker grade of solder.any help would be appreciated.

Advertisement

sourmash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 08:48 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

soldering pipe

In my opinion this doesn't point to the quality of the solder.

Is there water anywhere near the joint (in the pipes) that you're soldering? If so, small leaks are very likely. To keep water and steam at bay while soldering, take some white bread and ball it up into a dough-ball and stuff a hunk of it a few inches into the pipe to plug it up. The bread will quickly and easily dissolve and come out of the faucet when the water is turned back on.

You may be overheating the joint and melting your flux too much. That'll also cause pinhole leaks, because the solder can't draw into the joint if the flux has boiled out.

Advertisement

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 10:00 AM   #3
Master General ReEngineer

Rewards Points: 2,286

soldering pipe

Quote:
but I am trying to do something as simple as cap an existing line hot & cold water
Ayuh,...