Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-21-2012, 04:22 PM   #1

Share |

The solder or the valve? HELP!

I just soldered new tubing for my bathtub/shower plumbing. Everything seemed to have went well. My solder job is terrible, as you can see in the pics, but it is my first time and it did the trick. I removed the valve prior to soldering as to not damage it from the heat. Well, after I replaced the valve and tested it, the solder joints didn't leak, but as I turned the valve only a tiny bit of water trickled out. That is my first of two issues. I'm wondering, is it the brand new valve that's the problem or could it be something else?

My second question is this: As you can see in the picture of the inside of the valve housing, there is no hole up top where the water would go to the shower. What of this? how does the water make its way up to the shower head? This may be a silly question, but this is my first time at any of this.

Thank you in advance for your help.
Attached Thumbnails
The solder or the valve?  HELP!-p7210165.jpg   The solder or the valve?  HELP!-p7210166.jpg   The solder or the valve?  HELP!-p7210167.jpg  

JadRutherford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 04:33 PM   #2

did you flush out pipes before you installed cartridge....and is the unit upside down...look for arrows pointing up on valve body....

ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 04:53 PM   #3

Yes I installed the unit correctly. I think I may need to flush out the pipes. Did I damage the valve by not flushing the pipes out? What is the correct way to flush out the pipes?

Also, is there supposed to be an opening up top for the water to flow to the shower or no?
The Following User Says Thank You to JadRutherford For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (07-21-2012)
Old 07-21-2012, 05:07 PM   #4