Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread

Old 06-13-2013, 01:14 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 25

Sharkbite Fittings

A Bit about SharkBite Fittings

I am new to thus forum, but not to reading it.

A little about myself, I am a Jourmeyman Plumber and Gasfitter. I have worked as a Plumber in British Columbia for many years a d currently own and operate a Plumbing and Heating Company that employees several Plumbers and Apprentices.

Sharkbite Fittings seem to get a bad rap on forums such as these.

You have DIY people who, don't work on Plumbing Systems on a day to day basis taking advice from Plumbers who seem to have it in for these versatile fittings.

Sharkbite fittings have been around in some way for many many years. Push fit Tech is nothing new and has been used by industry for many years. Only in the last few years have they become available to the DIY person through the big box stores.

As a Plumber I find them to be 100% OK

They are approved by code
They can be installed underground and without protection
They can transition between material with ease

Besides Sharkbite, your choices are limited

Sweat - Torch to Building (Not Smart)
Compression - Cant Conceal.
Thread - Better have a threader or pay someone to do it for you. Pre measured fittings
Or Press Fit - Pex rings (Pex Limited) or Propress

I could go on, but the only way a sharkbite Will FAIL is if the installer makes an error during installation.

Reasons for failure are

Not measuring depth
Not Preparing pipe surface.

Sharkbite fittings are approved by code and perfectly acceptable to install.

Old 06-13-2013, 05:06 AM   #2
MarginallyQualified

Rewards Points: 2,036

Sharkbite Fittings

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidblackwoods View Post
Sharkbite Fittings seem to get a bad rap on forums such as these.
As a Plumber I find them to be 100% OK
The criticism is of two parts: