Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-19-2009, 07:09 AM   #1

Share |

Are shark bites reliable?

I basically know very little about plumbing. I recently stopped by my local plumbing specialty store to discuss an issue I have with a shower riser. The guy at the plumbing shop suggested I use PEX tubing with shark bite connections. He showed me how it worked. As a novice my first thought was, "Your kidding me. This actually works without leaking". But he insisted it was a very reliable fitting. How realiable are these fittings?

speedster1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 07:21 AM   #2
Remodeling Contractor

Very reliable. Some old time plumbers only use them if they are still exposed. But these guys do not like any changes. with some conduit types you need to use the plastic insert and with others you do not use this piece. So follow the instructions and you will be fine.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 12:46 PM   #3
We pick these?

I looked for some varied opinions on push-fittings prior to deciding I would use them on my remodel. They have been good so far here after 6 months of heavy use. They are okay for concealed locations in my jurisdiction. They are silly-easy to take off and reuse as well.

I installed a shower mixing valve and riser using sharkbite drop ear ells and npt/sharkbite adapters in my new bathroom, btw...
NailedIt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 01:49 PM   #4

Surprisingly effective, but one word of caution: you have to ensure you have a very solid connection, and have to cut the PEX tubing "square" to make sure it fits into the Sharkbite fitting solidly all around.