Septic Tank Pipe Question - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-20-2012, 08:09 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Septic Tank pipe question

Hi all, newbie here. Question. On the exit pipe on my septic tank, it is at the very top of the tank. Is this normal? And why wouldn't it make more sense to have the pipe a foot down or so from the top, incase of a large amount of liquid going in the tank in a short amount of time and causing it to backup into the house? Thank you. Grady

Advertisement

Grady1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 08:49 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 3,570

The exit pipe normally is about foot down from the top on the side or end of the tank. The inlet from the house could be on the top although not normally.

Advertisement

Old 03-20-2012, 09:15 AM   #3

Thanks Joe. That's kinda what I thought. Grady
Old 03-20-2012, 09:23 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 1,184

Just to be clear, the pipe that you are looking at is horizontal, not vertical, correct? If so, I would be more concerned with the absence of a tee at that point than I would with the elevation of the pipe. Not for a large amount of water coming into the tank at one time, as you described, but because of sludge getting into the field.
DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 11:38 AM   #5

Dexter, from the top of my tank at the discharge pipe to where what I assume is the distribution tank, is roughly 3' of fall within 12'. Oh and believe me there isn't sludge in the field, there's sludge in the leech pipe, as in solid sludge! Then again there isn't any stone in the leech field, roughly 8"-10" on the bottom and about 2" on top of the pipe. Grady
Old 03-20-2012, 04:42 PM   #6
Owner

Rewards Points: 500

Post pictures if you can.
(208) 818-8241
Like us on Facebook!
LateralConcepts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 07:18 PM   #7