DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

S trap question

6K views 15 replies 5 participants last post by  LateralConcepts 
#1 ·
I have a vanity in which the stub is coming right out of the floor. I have never used an "S" trap before, but it would seem that the tailpipe of the sink should NOT line up directly above the outlet pipe in the floor, since the two parts of the S trap cannot be directly in-line without hitting. These pipes do line up directly... this is a friends older house and there was never a trap before so the line down was a straight shot. Should I just try to move the outlet from the basement a little bit to the side? Is it ok if I twist the S trap so that it makes almost a loop instead of an S?

So that it looks like

instead of

See less See more
#3 ·
Really? It's surprising that they still sell kits at the big box stores then, no? So would the only way to accommodate a Ptrap be to rerun the rough pluming into the wall and up and out of the wall behind the vanity? That would be a NIGHTMARE in this application since the bathroom is an addition to a 100 year old home and the pipe is right up against a stone and mortar foundation wall....

#4 ·
If this is a permitted job, the inspector may fail it.
Although, it may be 'grandfathered' in because of the way it's set up and he/she will allow it.
If not permitted, either way will work, but from my understanding, the S-trap MIGHT get siphoned dry and allow septic/sewer gas to enter the room. I mentioned what the inspector told me about it to the guy in the plumbing dept. at HD and he didn't know it was illegal either.
And yup, they had the S-trap kits! (that's why I mentioned it to the guy)

DM

#5 · (Edited)
So would the only way to accommodate a Ptrap be to rerun the rough pluming into the wall and up and out of the wall behind the vanity?