Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-21-2009, 08:01 PM   #1

Share |

Running outdoor gas line

I'm redoing my entire backyard and my plans call for running about 60' of gas line to two different appliances, outdoor kitchen and fire pit. I've read some older threads about this same issue and was wondering if anything has changed as far as material or technique goes?

I'm planning on tapping into an existing gas line connected to my dryer. After I tee in, I plan on going underground for the rest of the way. Here's where I need some advice. Both the outdoor kitchen and fire pit will be on top of concrete slabs. This means I will need to run everything prior. Can the Polythylene gas line be embedded in a slab? If so, do I still need risers since they'll be encapsulated in concrete?

I'm new at running gas lines, so I appreciate any help I can get.

James (San Diego)

SanDiego808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 12:16 AM   #2

Running outdoor gas line

Get a licensed plumber to do that. Gas is serious... never mind that a leak can be deadly but you need to size it correctly and can't just tap into the dryer gas pipe.

plumber Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 12:36 AM   #3

Running outdoor gas line

Poly gas line isn't a DIY material. I agree with Plumber Jim that this isn't a job for a DIYer...Locates, permits, burial depths, tracer wires, proper materials, air test, and line sizing will all be critical factors. I can almost assure you that you cannot tee into your dryer's line and be able to supply those two devices on 60' of extra demand. There's a very good chance that you'll need to take it off right at the meter unless you want to reconfigure your home's gasline.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 07:16 AM   #4

Running outdoor gas line