Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-03-2011, 10:39 AM   #1

Share |

Replacing Washing Machine Water Shutoff Valve

We just moved in to a "New to Us" home and have little to no experience with home projects (and even fewer tools). With that being said, I can follow instructions as well as the next guy, and am handy enough to figure things out.

Our washing machine water shutoff valve is drippping when turned on. There is also low water pressure through the tube to the washing machine. While I know there are "bandaids" to this problem, I would like to replace both water valves, as well as the drip catch surround (I'm pretty sure that is NOT a technical term).

Unfortunately, since I have no experience, I am struggling with where to start. I would love some detailed instructions (and will most likely have lots of follow up questions). I am also wondering whether I need to remove a portion of the drywall below the valves, in order to inspect the pipes (not that I even know what I'm looking for).

I have done a fair share of research on the internet and understand the general steps, but am still lacking confidence. I have posted pictures, but please excuse the lighting (it is very poor in the laundry room).

I have been lurking on this site for months in anticipation of having my own project. Let the fun begin...
Attached Thumbnails
Replacing Washing Machine Water Shutoff Valve-img_2414.jpg   Replacing Washing Machine Water Shutoff Valve-img_2423.jpg  

aimforthenail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 01:54 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"

Open up the wall below the washer box to see what kind of pipe and connections you are dealing with. Cut straight down about 12" on each side of the box. Use a drywall saw (under $10) of a utility knife. Don't use a power saw or you may have more repairs that you want. Post a picture.

Old 08-03-2011, 06:20 PM   #3