Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-02-2006, 09:28 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Replacing main through foundation


I have a Fifty year old house that has the old pipes leaking from the pigtail of the meter to the house. I can see the old pipe has been mortor into the foundation. If I replace the galvanized pipe with copper, how would I proceed through the foundation?

Jlauck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 05:54 PM   #2
Journeyman Plumber
 
Ron The Plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 1,994
Default

Replacing main through foundation


Remove the old pipe and the redrill the hole with a mason bit. You may even beable to pound the old line out after you cut it, this may leave the hole big enough for new pipe to pass through

Ron The Plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 07:34 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Replacing main through foundation


Do I need to do anything to the new pipe that goes through the hole, like rap it with foam tape or insulation? And then should I fill the rest of the hole with morter like they did with original?
Jlauck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 07:36 PM   #4
Journeyman Plumber
 
Ron The Plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 1,994
Default

Replacing main through foundation


Yes wrap it, and then morter it back.
Ron The Plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 10:42 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Cool

Replacing main through foundation


Just one more question, Ron , Does the piece of pipe going through the foundation have to be by itself or can it be part of the coil of soft tubing that is connected to the pigtail coming from the meter? The coil I have is type 'K' 3/4"
Jlauck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 12:58 AM   #6
Long-Time DIYer
 
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On Albemarle Sound In Northeastern NC
Posts: 1,460
Default

Replacing main through foundation


Sounds like the right copper tubing to me, and you should be able to run it right through the foundation.
Good luck!
Mike
Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 07:22 AM   #7
Journeyman Plumber
 
Ron The Plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 1,994
Default

Replacing main through foundation


Like Mike said

Yes right through the foundation, what you have is fine.

Ron The Plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Replace Cripple Wall to Raise Foundation? casey_wa Building & Construction 1 08-04-2007 04:32 PM
Replacing part of the Main Water line rgmetro Plumbing 2 04-12-2007 08:30 AM
Arced main lug in service panel burgeke Electrical 4 11-02-2006 11:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.