Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2008, 01:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Replacing Faucet for a Roman tub


Hi all,

I'm brand new to this forum. So...be gentle please

I'm the second owner of the house I'm in (built in 1997). I have a roman tub in the master bedroom. The faucet is on top of the tub (on the tub). I have corion all around the tub, and no access from underneath at all.

My faucet broke. I need to replace the whole set. I believe the brand name for the broken set is Moen. I've been looking for the similar set to replace it, but I think Moen changed their design a little since then.

Here are my questions:

1) can you remove the old set from the top (of the tub) since I DO NOT have access from the side or bottom AT ALL! (By the way, is this a common design?)

2) if the answer to my first question is no, can anybody point me to where to research further to see what I need to do? (open up the stucco / drywall from outside? break down the corion cover on the side?)

Thank you so much.

P.S. As I'm writing this...I should have taken a picture (and I will) of the bath tub...
phibui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 01:31 PM   #2
Journeyman Plumber
 
Ron The Plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 1,994
Default

Replacing Faucet for a Roman tub


What broke on the faucet?
__________________
Fix it right the first time, so you won't have to fix it a 2nd time.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ron The Plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 01:43 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Replacing Faucet for a Roman tub


it up and found that the "plastic cylinder" (I don't know what you called that) broke too.
phibui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 01:45 PM   #4
Journeyman Plumber
 
Ron The Plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 1,994
Default

Replacing Faucet for a Roman tub


All those parts are replaceable , go to moen web site find your faucet, look at the parts break down on it, then call moen and have them send them to you, they will ship them to you at no cost, but I'm sure it's fixable.
__________________
Fix it right the first time, so you won't have to fix it a 2nd time.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Ron The Plumber; 02-05-2008 at 01:47 PM.
Ron The Plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 01:52 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Replacing Faucet for a Roman tub


is...would I be able to do that from the top since I don't have access on the side or underneath?

Thanks again for your help. By the way, is Moen's faucet life-time warrantee?
phibui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 01:53 PM   #6
Journeyman Plumber
 
Ron The Plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 1,994
Default

Replacing Faucet for a Roman tub


Yes lifetime, yes fixable from top side.
__________________
Fix it right the first time, so you won't have to fix it a 2nd time.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ron The Plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 04:02 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3
Default

Replacing Faucet for a Roman tub


We have the same set of taps on our tub as well. However, when it came time to replace the cartridges, the tool that Moen sent didn't work. Seems the cartridge is crammed in there. Phibui, if you gt that darn cartridge out, lemme know how ya did it. We have been trying for a while, still no luck.
Anyway, looks like we are going with a new faucet set. However I DO have access to behind the bathtub and underneath as well.
Biggels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 01:16 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Replacing Faucet for a Roman tub


I sprayed w40, let it sit for a few hours, and then I used the plyers to pull it out. Worked for me!

As far as the warrantee, I talked to Moen, and they said it's not life-time, so I ended up spending a total of $200 for my whole faucet (bought the new set).

Good luck with yours!!!
phibui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 06:28 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3
Default

Replacing Faucet for a Roman tub


hpibui, the WD40 worked, only in one side though. The otheer side, the plastic bit that keeps the cartridge down is stripped (too many attempts at removal). Thanks for the WD40 tip though.
Biggels is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! hot water won't stop running despite faucet changes. nodak_luke Plumbing 4 12-14-2007 05:38 PM
Does faucet attach to grante or...? sil Plumbing 2 11-22-2007 02:22 PM
Replacing bathroom faucet but unsure which type it is phaze112 Plumbing 3 10-03-2007 04:09 PM
replacing hose bibb leroyme Plumbing 23 04-16-2007 05:45 PM
Repair outdoor faucet? mx13 Plumbing 3 04-09-2007 06:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.