Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-18-2008, 02:43 PM   #1

Share |

Repairing Shower Tiles, Gap between Tub/Drywayll

First time home-owner here, trying to do alot of the work myself. I know which end of a wrench to hold, but I'm pretty new to any plumbing or tile work.

The tub/shower in one of our bathrooms had small pieces of grout missing between some of the tiles. I thought it would be relatively simple to whip up some grout, fill the missing chunks, and reseal it. When I started knocking the loose pieces of grout out I noticed one section in particular being alot different.

The tiles near the bath spout were uneven, like they'd been put back in poorly. I found several loose tiles, and ended up pulling off the tile from the top of the tub about 4" up on the spout side of the tub. Now I can see what I assume is drywall, with all the brown adhesive. What's strange though is that there is a gap of about an inch between the bottom of the drywall and the 'lip' of the tub. Should there be a gap here? My gut tells me that the drywall should come down and be flush with the tub deck, with the lip butting up against the back of the drywall.

In any case, I am hesitant to simply put the tile back on with that gap there. For one thing, the bottom row of tiles would only have adhesive on 1/2 to 2/3 of the surface area, and for another it seems like a water problem waiting to happen. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance, I appreciate any help

regards,
Zulu

Zulu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 04:24 PM   #2

Send a message via AIM to Marlin