Removing Stuck Cartridges - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-09-2013, 05:51 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Removing Stuck Cartridges

Dear Wise Ones,

Total noob question here. I've looked through past topics and I've used WD-40 and a lot of torque but I've not been able to remove two 20 year old ceramic cartridges (Phylrich LC499CNL and HNL) from my lav unit. I'm beginning to think that I'm simply doing something wrong in addition to being ignorant, so I appeal to your knowledge.

I attach a photo of one of the cartridges. I know I need to apply a good deal of force, so I want to make sure I'm applying that force correctly. I am using wrenches on the top nut (which seems the top of the main body of the cartridge) and the bottom nut. With effort, I can rotate the cartridge perhaps 1/8 of a turn, but I can see from under the sink that the entire valve is rotating. So my effort is, I think, being wasted. Where should my lower wrench be placed? (Normally, I wouldn't see why I should need a wrench at all; the cartridge shouldn't be so stuck. But since it is stuck, I need a wrench or some other tool to help.)

I have taken off the tiny locking clip from the spindle. I have used WD-40. I have not soaked the unit in CLR. I figure I'm doing something else wrong and you're shaking your heads and are about to tell me of my shame. I am ready.

Oh, I've got replacement cartridges on the way, so I don't care if I destroy these. I would just prefer not to destroy my valves and sink. Is this a case for a cartridge puller?

Thank you,

Franz
Attached Thumbnails
Removing Stuck Cartridges-stuck-cartridge.jpg  

Advertisement

Buddhaauthor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 06:39 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 636

Box end wrench and a few taps with a hammer on the end of the wrench.
A deep well 6 point socket and an impact wrench.