Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-19-2010, 11:50 AM   #1
ex tiler / shop owner
 
diydisasterdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Poole, Dorset, U.K.
Posts: 9
Share |
Question

removing one rad causing another to stop.


Hi Guys!

This may already be here somewhere but I can't find it.

I am a tiler by trade, not a plumber. I have removed one of our bedroom rads to patch up the plaster underneath and the rad in the second bedroom has stopped working. I have checked the combi boiler and there is still pressure. Tried bleeding the cold rad and it is under pressure and full as water comes out. All of the other rads in the house are working fine.

Does this mean that when I re attach the rad and turn it on the second rad will start working or do I have to do something else?

I would be v grateful for any advice

Regards

Martin.

diydisasterdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 12:27 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 1,986
Default

removing one rad causing another to stop.


If the rads are piped in series (pipe is continuous from each rad to the next) and you capped off the removed rad, you may have interrupted the water flow to the cold one.
If not in series, then perhaps there is an air block? Is there a thermostat on the rad that is cold?

bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 12:50 PM   #3
ex tiler / shop owner
 
diydisasterdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Poole, Dorset, U.K.
Posts: 9
Post

removing one rad causing another to stop.


Quote:
Originally Posted by bob22 View Post
If the rads are piped in series (pipe is continuous from each rad to the next) and you capped off the removed rad, you may have interrupted the water flow to the cold one.
If not in series, then perhaps there is an air block? Is there a thermostat on the rad that is cold?
Hi, I wondered if they were in series but don't know how to tell.

Yes there is a TRV on the cold rad. I've got it on maximum & as I said, when I use the rad key on it water comes out. Does that mean there's not an air block?
diydisasterdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 01:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,731
Default

removing one rad causing another to stop.


How many zones do you have? Is there a separate themostat for the radiator that you removed, or was it controlled by the thermostat on the cold radiator? When you removed the radiator, did you simply cap the lines. Just a few rhetorical things to look at, but my guess would be that Bob is right; you probably need to connect the two lines from each side of the radiator that you removed.
DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 01:44 PM   #5
ex tiler / shop owner
 
diydisasterdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Poole, Dorset, U.K.
Posts: 9
Default

removing one rad causing another to stop.


Quote:
Originally Posted by DexterII View Post
How many zones do you have? Is there a separate themostat for the radiator that you removed, or was it controlled by the thermostat on the cold radiator? When you removed the radiator, did you simply cap the lines. Just a few rhetorical things to look at, but my guess would be that Bob is right; you probably need to connect the two lines from each side of the radiator that you removed.
Thanks for the clarification.

We have only one room stat (downstairs) but each rad except the bathroom has a TRV. I'm hoping that when I re connect it things will be ok. I was just a little worried that i'd made a mess of things.

Martin.
diydisasterdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I adjust hot water limit stop in single handle shower faucet? ThunderCAT Plumbing 2 03-09-2010 02:13 PM
Hinge Pin Door Stop exterior dws General DIY Discussions 5 02-17-2009 09:58 AM
Elec short causing A/C problems or A/C problems causing elec problems? Marlon Electrical 2 06-25-2008 02:04 PM
Need help with permit/city got a Stop Work Order. amdspitfire General DIY Discussions 39 02-07-2008 02:45 PM
Hinge door stop fred2007 General DIY Discussions 3 11-11-2007 07:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.