Relocating Drain/trap In Manufac. Home For Whirlpool, HELP!!! - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2008, 04:29 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Relocating drain/trap in manufac. home for whirlpool, HELP!!!


I am in the process of installing a 60x60 corner whirlpool in my manufactured home. I have included some pics. I will be lucky if the vent stack isn't in my way. But I need to relocate the drain,trap. The flashlight standing vertical in the one pic indicates roughly where the new drain will need to be. The problem is the old trap and where it T's into the vent/drain is above subfloor. I had planned on running the P trap then running a length of pipe horizontal to the same T connection but it won't fit under the whirlpool. Would it hurt to block the legs of the whirlpool with 2x4's and run the pipe under it? If not how am I going to make this work? I was told I couldn't use an S trap to just drop from the drain with an S trap and then T into the drain running directly under. Need some opinions thx.





Advertisement

MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 06:31 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Relocating drain/trap in manufac. home for whirlpool, HELP!!!


Need to get the plumbing done. Gonna get the electrical taken care of in couple days. I can't start building the island til' I get the plumbing figured out because I figure I will be cutting up part of the floor to do the relocating. Thx.

Advertisement

MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 08:10 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Relocating drain/trap in manufac. home for whirlpool, HELP!!!


Can't a fellow get some help??????? LOL.
MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 08:54 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 99
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Relocating drain/trap in manufac. home for whirlpool, HELP!!!


Everyone is trying to recover from the grounding/bonding issue from my post
MikeyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 10:10 PM   #5
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Relocating drain/trap in manufac. home for whirlpool, HELP!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeyP View Post
Everyone is trying to recover from the grounding/bonding issue from my post
Why don't you cut out the T and connect into the drain lower? Can't see under your floor in the photo (Can see some in the one photo, but am unable to see how deep it is to that sweep or what the rest of the system looks like), but isn't there any more room?

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 10:11 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Relocating drain/trap in manufac. home for whirlpool, HELP!!!


LOL, nah this is an old post I had started. I got it all figured out now. How is your project going? You got any pics? What kind of whirlpool you installing? Mine is an "island". Sounds like we got the same project going on.
MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 08:56 PM   #7
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Relocating drain/trap in manufac. home for whirlpool, HELP!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeVila View Post
LOL, nah this is an old post I had started. I got it all figured out now. How is your project going? You got any pics? What kind of whirlpool you installing? Mine is an "island". Sounds like we got the same project going on.
HI

Glad you got it figured out. I am putting in a 5 person 250/gallon tub on our "porch" which is a room that is part of the house on a poured slab. I put in new windows, new doors, new tile floor (almost done) and am going out put up blue board and plaster the room. Ran 3/4" emt conduit with a disconnect in the room, the tub goes on a GFCI breaker with a 4 wire setup. Replaced the electrical and set it up so everything in the room is protected with a GFCI. Added a heat register and cold air return to the room as well. I will post some more photos as soon as I made a little more progress and have a update to share.

Thanks for asking.
Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 10:04 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 99
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Relocating drain/trap in manufac. home for whirlpool, HELP!!!


Hey MikeVilla---What do you end up doing with the electrical? I ordered a 10 jet whirlpool tub with heat thinking all I needed was a dedicated 20 amp breaker but now I'm concerned I'm over my head. Any tips???? I fairness I haven't opened the box yet because I'm still working on some walls.

Advertisement

MikeyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Owning a home (not a mobile home) on leased land? Badfish740 Off Topic 11 03-30-2008 10:34 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts