Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2013, 03:35 PM   #1
Member
 
CitadelBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Reasonable price to run a gas line inside


I'm in northern VA just outside Washington DC. I am a DIY er and redoing my kitchen. We are changing from an electric range to an electric double oven and a gas cooktop. Oven is in and working and next on the work list is the cooktop install. I've been following the DIY gas line post in this forum and am not adverse into running the gas line BUT ....... what is the consensus on cost to hire a professional to run the gas line as follows:

Tap into gas line currently servicing the furnace and hot water heater located in the middle of the house (unfinished basement).

Run approximately 35 ft (about 20 ft out then turn 90 degrees for 10 ft and then up through the floor ) of 3/4 inch gas line. Can use either black pipe or CSST

What do you think? What should I pay?
Attached Thumbnails
Reasonable price to run a gas line inside-gas-line-1.jpg   Reasonable price to run a gas line inside-gas-line-2.jpg  

CitadelBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 04:23 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,681
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

Reasonable price to run a gas line inside


Quote:
Originally Posted by CitadelBlue View Post
What do you think? What should I pay?
"How much will it cost?" Asking for price estimates here.

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 05:31 PM   #3
Member
 
CitadelBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Reasonable price to run a gas line inside


As as DIY er to DIY et , what should I expect to pay
CitadelBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 06:23 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,327
Rewards Points: 1,198
Default

Reasonable price to run a gas line inside


What price do you think is reasonable? Get three quotes take the middle.
Ghostmaker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 07:17 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,291
Rewards Points: 2,244
Default

Reasonable price to run a gas line inside


Quote:
Originally Posted by CitadelBlue View Post
As as DIY er to DIY et , what should I expect to pay
How about telling all of us, why Grass is Green, dirt is Brown, and the Sky is Blue.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
CitadelBlue (06-12-2013)
Old 06-12-2013, 07:27 PM   #6
moderator
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 7,038
Rewards Points: 2,262
Default

Reasonable price to run a gas line inside


CitadelBlue- There are too many variables to price here. Your best bet is to get the quotes as Ghostmaker suggested.
A good plumber will resize your line and make sure the connection can be made at your suggested point.
Your new demand may be too much for the existing line so some existing pipe upsizing may be needed- somebody needs to run the calcs first.
This will obviously affect your price
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TheEplumber For This Useful Post:
CitadelBlue (06-12-2013), Javiles (06-12-2013)
Old 06-13-2013, 07:38 AM   #7
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 6,637
Rewards Points: 2,556
Default

Reasonable price to run a gas line inside


+1

Get a few quotes and vet the contractors.

Might be a DIY capable project if you are decent and there is a solid and tight shut off valve prior to the joints.

The nice thing about running pipe is if you do it right, it will never leak down the road.
Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 08:01 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,558
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

Reasonable price to run a gas line inside


In the photos you post, where are you thinking is the place to tap into for the new run to your cooktop?

Is the main run from the meter all in 3/4"?

How much additional pipe length is there from the meter to the piping you show in the photos?

How many BTUs is the new cooktop?

How many BTUs is the furnace?

How many BTUs is the hot water heater?
Attached Thumbnails
Reasonable price to run a gas line inside-gas-20line-201.jpg  

Last edited by hammerlane; 06-13-2013 at 08:07 AM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 08:29 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,558
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

Reasonable price to run a gas line inside


Reason I asked all above questions is say the point in your photos is 30 feet of developed pipe length from the meter and is all 3/4".

By develeoped pipe length I mean the actual length may only be 22 feet but you have to add in any 90's or Tee's as its equivalent length of pipe.
A 3/4" 90 is equal to 2.06 feet and a 3/4" Tee is equal to 4.12 feet


So that point in the photo is 30 feet from the meter. 30 feet of 3/4" can deliver 151 cubic feet per hour. This is about 153,000 BTU per hour.

If your furnace is 100,000 BTU.
If your hot water tank is 45,000 BTU
If your cooktop is 36,000 BTU

This all adds up to 181,000 BTU per hour needed at the point in your photo.

Now you need to add in the developed length of pipe from the point in your photo to the cooktop which you say is 35 feet which is propably more like 43 feet when you factor in equivalent lenths.

An upsize to 1" from your meter may be needed to the point in your photos. Then possibly 1/2" or 3/4" can be run to furnace, hot water and cooktop.

Thirty(30) feet of 1" pipe can deliver 284 cubic feet per hour. This is about 288,000 BTU per hour.

Last edited by hammerlane; 06-13-2013 at 08:34 AM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 08:38 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,558
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

Reasonable price to run a gas line inside


The cost to do this work is hard to say. If you want a ballpark figure here it is:

Dodger Stadium---56,000
Yankee Stadium---53,325
Coors Field--- 50,490
Turner Field---50,097
Arlington Stadium---49,170


****Don't look at it as you pay him $100 for 1 hour of work, look at it as he saved you 10 hours of work****
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 10:12 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,943
Rewards Points: 2,066
Default

Reasonable price to run a gas line inside


When I built my house, I did all the plumbing but had the propane company run the gas lines to my tankless water heater and backup furnace. It was a flat $125 per connection. Took them two days, as they did a 24-hour pressure test on them.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 12:32 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michgan
Posts: 176
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Reasonable price to run a gas line inside


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
Reason I asked all above questions is say the point in your photos is 30 feet of developed pipe length from the meter and is all 3/4".

By develeoped pipe length I mean the actual length may only be 22 feet but you have to add in any 90's or Tee's as its equivalent length of pipe.
A 3/4" 90 is equal to 2.06 feet and a 3/4" Tee is equal to 4.12 feet


So that point in the photo is 30 feet from the meter. 30 feet of 3/4" can deliver 151 cubic feet per hour. This is about 153,000 BTU per hour.

If your furnace is 100,000 BTU.
If your hot water tank is 45,000 BTU
If your cooktop is 36,000 BTU

This all adds up to 181,000 BTU per hour needed at the point in your photo.

Now you need to add in the developed length of pipe from the point in your photo to the cooktop which you say is 35 feet which is propably more like 43 feet when you factor in equivalent lenths.

An upsize to 1" from your meter may be needed to the point in your photos. Then possibly 1/2" or 3/4" can be run to furnace, hot water and cooktop.

Thirty(30) feet of 1" pipe can deliver 284 cubic feet per hour. This is about 288,000 BTU per hour.

Wow thats alot of information to consider just for adding a cooktop. I wonder if the OP considered all that when switching from electric to gas cooking.
rosem637 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 01:05 PM   #13
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,291
Rewards Points: 2,244
Default

Reasonable price to run a gas line inside


Rosem637, it is called overkill. Most likely they will be fine with the existing 3/4 that is already there.

Who ever did the black iron for our gas in our house, came off the 1" incoming about ten feet in where it entered, and ran 3/4 all the way from there to the stove service at about 20 feet of line.

One of these days, that mess is getting redone, with a proper manifold for the furnace, water heater and stove.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 01:30 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,558
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

Reasonable price to run a gas line inside


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
it is called overkill. Most likely they will be fine with the existing 3/4 that is already there.
In my previous post I forgot about the addition of the double oven along with the cooktop.

Regarding adding additional lengths of pipe and the addition of a new cooktop and new double oven that will add probably an additional 70,000 BTU demand you may go on the premise of "most likely" it will be fine.

National Fuel & Gas Code 5.4.2.2 says "The total connected hourly load shall be used as the basis for piping sizing assuming all appliances are operating at full capacity simultaneously."

No way say on a Thanksgiving day with the furnace firing, hot water tank firing and double oven and cooktop firing will a 3/4" run supply enough gas to meet that demand.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 02:40 PM   #15
Member
 
Amateuralex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Posts: 282
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Reasonable price to run a gas line inside


Quote:
Originally Posted by CitadelBlue View Post
As as DIY er to DIY et , what should I expect to pay
We paid $250 here in Ann Arbor, and it was done with a flexible line by a local plumber that I trust.

Amateuralex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is a good belt sander at a reasonable price jamesd20 Tools 9 08-15-2012 07:28 AM
Complete blockage of main line mnp13 Plumbing 9 05-29-2012 10:51 AM
Reasonable price to install 30ft gutter? jmejiaa Off Topic 5 08-30-2010 03:35 PM
A blocked water line causing water to loose heat? Snav Plumbing 6 05-07-2010 02:18 PM
Need to run gas line to Tankless Water Heater. anonymouscuban Plumbing 2 04-16-2010 02:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.