Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-14-2012, 08:10 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Re-routing kitchen drain, do I need to bring to code?


The old route for our kitchen sink was problematic and we want to re-run via a different path in the basement which will make for a shorter run. I know that we have to use a certain slope for proper drainage (1/4" p/foot I believe) but my problems are:

Our current drain is 1-1/2", I believe code is now 2". By disturbing this, I assume I will have to upgrade to the 2".

Our current sink configuration does not have a vent, I assume when the house was built in 1975 or thereabouts that it passed code and then it was OK, now if I am rerunning the drain line and disturbing all this, will I now have to add a vent pipe for the kitchen sink?

Thanks
~Sue

suzcomptime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 10:29 AM   #2
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,692
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Re-routing kitchen drain, do I need to bring to code?


You don't HAVE to do anything.

That said, yes, the minimum size for a kitchen sink drain is now 2" It would be a good idea to upsize since you are going to the trouble of replacing it.

You should also add a vent. If the wall isn't open, and your area allows it, you COULD use a studor vent. I prefer a conventional vent whenever possible, but there are situations where the studor vent comes in handy.

__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Alan For This Useful Post:
TheEplumber (07-14-2012)
Old 07-14-2012, 10:42 AM   #3
moderator
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,537
Default

Re-routing kitchen drain, do I need to bring to code?


Just to add to what Allen said- if you increase to 2"-and you should if possible- be sure you do not decrease back to 1.5" when you tie into the main. You must replace the fitting (wye or tee) in the mainline also.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TheEplumber For This Useful Post:
VIPlumber (07-14-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lowering kitchen drain pipe - PVC LeviDIY Plumbing 15 07-06-2010 01:13 PM
Routing new drain Jack E Plumbing 7 03-24-2010 03:06 PM
Kitchen Drain Dilemma DIYaholic Plumbing 4 01-13-2010 08:23 PM
Clogged kitchen drain swoop Plumbing 3 12-28-2009 10:34 AM
Anyone know if it is code for a utility room floor drain? tigerbalm2424 General DIY Discussions 3 10-17-2007 10:48 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.