Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-01-2012, 06:41 PM   #1
US ARMY RETIRED
 
ACR_SCOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 100
Share |
Default

question about septic pump & alarm wiring.


I started digging a trench from the house to the septic pump tank to install wiring for an alarm. The pump wire comes to a weather box on the outside of the tank. The wire from the house comes out of the ground to that box. The wire from the box going into the ground is standard romex. About 10 underground it is spliced into underground cable and taped up.

I want to replace this wire all the way back to the main panel and add the wire for the alarm. I want to run it all in plastic conduit. Can both wires run in one conduit or do I need to run two different ones. Is there a better way to do this?

Thank you,
Fred

ACR_SCOUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 06:50 PM   #2
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

question about septic pump & alarm wiring.


Both can be put in conduit. Just go big enough on the conduit so you can pull the wires with ease

__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 08:02 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,256
Default

question about septic pump & alarm wiring.


I believe both can go into same ... you may consider 2-pipes though just in case there is ever a problem..pull acouple extra for power and for alarm....
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 03:38 PM   #4
US ARMY RETIRED
 
ACR_SCOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 100
Question

question about septic pump & alarm wiring.


Ok. I need to clean this up a little now.

Here is what I think I want to do until someone tells me otherwise.

I am going to get a control and alarm box by SPI (50B010) <http://www.septicsolutions.com/PDFs/...es%20sheet.pdf>

In that box is a 20 amp breaker for the pump. I know I have to rewire this from the main panel out to the tank so I took a look at the current wiring which is 14/2 romex with a 15 amp breaker in the main panel.

I have a Zoller 153 half horse power pump.

I believe I am going to run 12/2 underground cable from the main panel to the new control panel. Currently I know of two splices in the current cable. One in the basement in a junction box and one buried about 10" under ground.

Does anyone see any flaws in my plan?

Is 20 amps too much to protect the Zoller pump?

Thank you,
Fred
ACR_SCOUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 03:43 PM   #5
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

question about septic pump & alarm wiring.


If you are going to put this in conduit then there is no reason to use UF cable or cable for burial. But if you are going to direct burial then you need to use UF. Using 12/2 w/ground romex in conduit is fine

20a breaker is fine as well. No splices under ground or in the conduit.

Other than that sounds like you have it all together
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 03:46 PM   #6
US ARMY RETIRED
 
ACR_SCOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 100
Smile

question about septic pump & alarm wiring.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber101 View Post
If you are going to put this in conduit then there is no reason to use UF cable or cable for burial. But if you are going to direct burial then you need to use UF. Using 12/2 w/ground romex in conduit is fine

20a breaker is fine as well. No splices under ground or in the conduit.

Other than that sounds like you have it all together
After the price comparison and the distance I have to run the wire outside. It actually comes out cheaper to run UF 12/2 with ground all the way. I just need to find some Duct Putty

Thank you.
ACR_SCOUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 03:50 PM   #7
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

question about septic pump & alarm wiring.


Sometimes price dictates what you can or have to do and I can understand that. But using condit is sooooooo much better. It protects the wiring and its easier to replace if something goes wrong and the wiring needs to be replaced.

How deep are you buring the wire?

You should go atleast 24" and at the 1 ft depth as you are back filling place yellow caution tape the length of the trench. This way if someone digs they will hit the caution tape and know that wiring or piping is below.
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 04:12 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,256
Default

question about septic pump & alarm wiring.


yes arc seem like you got a good grip on what your going to do ...just courious what the max amp rating is on pump????
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 04:19 PM   #9
US ARMY RETIRED
 
ACR_SCOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 100
Default

question about septic pump & alarm wiring.


[QUOTE="Plumber101"

How deep are you buring the wire?

You should go atleast 24" and at the 1 ft depth as you are back filling place yellow caution tape the length of the trench. This way if someone digs they will hit the caution tape and know that wiring or piping is below.[/QUOTE]

I think code says 24" that is what I was plannin. The yellow tape is brilliant. I will do that.

I will look again at the conduit idea but from the tank to the foundation wall is 17 feet. The previous post says I can't splice conduit under ground. Seems strange since I have to put a fitting on the pvc conduit to bring it up the foundation wall.

Fred

ACR_SCOUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New heat pump wiring question jmedenf HVAC 3 10-14-2011 06:26 PM
Sump Pump Questions henlij Plumbing 19 08-12-2009 07:50 PM
SUMP PUMP Question Stevera64 Plumbing 5 08-09-2009 07:43 PM
Well Pump to Generator Question Sprice Electrical 1 02-11-2009 11:27 AM
Trane Heat Pump tstat replacement with Honeywell prog - wiring question sep23 HVAC 2 10-20-2006 09:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.