Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-03-2011, 10:30 AM   #1

Share |

Pvc clogging faucets

Hi, I am a newbie and would like to ask a question. I have never heard of cpvc deteriorating, but just about every 2 wks or less, I am unclogging the tub valve and sink on the hot water side. Is there anything in the hot water heater that has a plastic part? It looks like white plastic/pvc particles. We moved in this house about 5 years ago and don't know how old the water heater is. Oh, also before this new problem, the pop off valve (which I replaced about 3 years ago) has been filling up buckets of water and I put the hose in the washer and it filled it up!! The heat is set @ 120.

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

hotdog2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 10:39 AM   #2

Pvc clogging faucets

I am guessing that it isn't piping, but calcium deposits you are needing to clean out from the faucets. Try draining and flushing the water heater. Operate the handle on the T/P valve. There may be a peice of trash under the seat.

Old 01-03-2011, 11:01 AM   #3

Pvc clogging faucets

If you water heater is really old, the problem could be from a deteriorating dip tube. There were class action lawsuits over the issue. But don't overlook flushing the unit - I had a similar problem and that fixed it.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to md2lgyk For This Useful Post:
hotdog2 (01-06-2011)
Old 01-03-2011, 11:38 AM   #4

Pvc clogging faucets

Thanks for the quick reply. I'll try flushing it and working the t/p valve. It isn't calcium but it looks and feel like pcv. I believe it may be the dip tube. If I pulled it out, how can I tell...deteriorating,pitting, flaking, etc?

Thanks for the help. I'm glad it's my water heater because I'm on a slab and would have to tear the sheet rock out on the walls and it'd be a mess!