PVC Bonding With Primer? Just Cement? - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-04-2010, 10:34 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 276

PVC Bonding with Primer? Just Cement?

Correction: Title should read PVC..

My dad just put in a 1" T on his water line coming into his house. (It is regular PVC..) He is putting in sprinklers and is coming off the main water line to the house. He primed, then cemented each joint. Then let it sit for 2 hours.. We turned on the water and POOF. One of the joints opened up.

I've never used primer before on brand new Sch 40 PCV. Do you use Primer?

The primer doesn't say how much to add, How long to wait before cement, or mention wiping it off, etc.. Is primer really ever needed?

How long should we have waited? Pressure is around 80 PSI..

Also, I didn't think PVC was used for potable water, is it just Hot water you can't use it for?

Advertisement

zootjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 10:47 AM   #2
Licensed Master Plumber

Rewards Points: 250

You use primer and then glue on PVC. Set time depends on temperature but a minute or two is usually enough. I suspect that if it blew apart he forgot to glue that joint or used way too much glue. A very thin light coat is all you need.

Advertisement

Old 09-04-2010, 11:33 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 1,000

Glue and primer will make the strongest joint. I agree that the joint that blew apart was not properly done, as even just the glue should have held for a while. My waterlines in Florida were all PVC, except for the hot water. Where I live in Arkansas, the line from the meter to the house is PVC.
Old 09-08-2010, 08:58 PM   #4
South Jersey

Rewards Points: 25

Do not drop PVC pipe. While it has a high PSI rating it is still brittle and dropping it can cause invisible damage.