Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2011, 01:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

propane line for a new gas cooktop?


I'm preparing to have a new gas cooktop installed. I've run the 120V line for the igniter. I have propane already at my house for a clothes dryer and a fireplace. I'm not sure what type of line needs to be run for the propane?

The dryer looks to be 1/2 rolled copper from the tee in the tank line up to the dryer(then the flexible hose into the dryer).

The fireplace looks to be the same copper off the tank line, then converted into some type of flexible pvc/plastic, the black iron in the fireplace itself up to the unit.

What is appropriate for propane for a cooktop?
Can the same rolled copper be run or does black iron have to be used?

tmorriss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 02:05 PM   #2
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,683
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

propane line for a new gas cooktop?


Quote:
Can the same rolled copper be run
Ayuh,... That's what Mine is....

1/2" soft copper, "T"'ed to the stove, 'n dryer...
All flare fittings...

Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 02:37 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 951
Rewards Points: 500
Default

propane line for a new gas cooktop?


I think mine is smaller than 1/2".

The instruction manual should have a table. You also need to change the orifices if they haven't been.
pyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 02:41 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

propane line for a new gas cooktop?


Unfortunately, the instructions only cover the actual hookup of the cooktop (regulator, shutoff, etc etc)
It assumes a pre-existing gas line.

Yes, the unit has already been converted for propane. I"m just trying to find out what is the acceptable material to use for the line to the unit.
tmorriss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 07:44 AM   #5
Plumb or Die!
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 250
Default

propane line for a new gas cooktop?


Soft copper with FLARED fittings is the way to go.
plumber666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Small underground propane leak, worth fixing? Dave Carney Plumbing 5 07-05-2010 06:03 PM
New ICe maker line causes ice to taste like rubber speedster1 Plumbing 5 06-27-2010 08:09 AM
Natural gas line????? figs Plumbing 1 06-14-2009 01:13 PM
electric line and gas line couch potatoe Electrical 17 09-30-2008 10:43 PM
Condensate Line schott HVAC 17 06-02-2008 03:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.