Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-30-2008, 03:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

pressure switch on pump


I have a submercible pump with the tank and pressure sw. in the basement it seems that the connections on the switch are always engaged withe the pressure of the tank at 35 should not be callinffg for water. is the switch bad

radams3141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 05:55 PM   #2
electrical contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Georgia USA
Posts: 181
Rewards Points: 150
Default

pressure switch on pump


Is the pump running all the time?

__________________
Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid.
wire_twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 07:14 PM   #3
Building and plumbing
 
USP45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: farmville, VA
Posts: 244
Rewards Points: 150
Default

pressure switch on pump


It may or may not be a leak. If the contacts in the switch are touching all the time it COULD be a leak and not letting the switch build up pressure. BUT it could also be the feed tube leading from the line to the bottom of the switch. If it gets cloged up then no pressure will get through to cut the switch off. I have seen the impellers in the pump wear out and it can not pump enough pressure to cut the switch off.

1) Check to see if there are any leaks
2) If no leaks are found in above ground pipes, then look under ground, ie wet spots on the ground leading to the well, grass that appears to be greener than the surrounding areas leading to the well.
3) Ckeck for leaks at or around any yard hydrants.
4) Check pipes leading to the pump by leaving the pump run and slowly raise the pipe out the well and see if you can hear water splashing. If so it could be a hole in the pipe
5) Check the foot valve at the pump. If this goes bad it will do the same thing.

Try these, if it dont work, let us know and we will see what we can do for you next
USP45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
goodman pressure switch error 3 blinks mrbac HVAC 4 03-11-2013 11:43 PM
Pressure switch hateheater HVAC 2 12-16-2007 09:29 PM
Bad pressure switch? gshock HVAC 3 11-13-2007 07:15 PM
Pressure Switch Problem? jamespappin HVAC 1 10-28-2007 02:32 AM
What engages pressure switch? dfferg HVAC 1 09-12-2005 10:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.