Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-31-2012, 07:04 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Pressure switch


How do I know if it is the pressure switch that has gone bad and not the pump?

Teresa65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 07:22 AM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Default

Pressure switch


take the cover off the pressure switch. Use a non-conductive pen and push the contacts in to close them. The pump if good will start. if not the pressure switch may not be the problem. BUT.... the hose between the pressure switch and the tee near the tank may be the issue. I have seen problems where the water in these lines is clogged so the switch is not sensing the proper pressure.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 07:51 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,386
Default

Pressure switch


Close the switch and measure the voltage on the lines going to the pump. If there is voltage and the pump is not running then the pump or the line to the pump has a problem. If the points on the switch are burnt up simply pushing it closed and seeing if the pump runs is not a valid test.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 10:52 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,262
Default

Pressure switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Close the switch and measure the voltage on the lines going to the pump. If there is voltage and the pump is not running then the pump or the line to the pump has a problem. If the points on the switch are burnt up simply pushing it closed and seeing if the pump runs is not a valid test.
yes i agree with you ...if contacts are burnt won't make contact to turn on pump...I would apply voltage direct to pump leads...if it don't start ...you will have to pull pump...
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Well Pressure Switch Replacement (Photos) porkfriedrice Plumbing 4 10-27-2011 04:31 PM
Help with Amtrol Digital well pressure switch Cool_CA Electrical 1 06-14-2011 07:53 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 03:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.