Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-26-2006, 04:18 PM   #1

Share |

PLEASE HELP..Kitchen Sink Plumbing!!

I need some serious help.

I need to rip out my sink cabinet to install a new one. How do I get these out of the old cabinet, and how can I put them in the new one???

I'm a newbie to plumbing so please help!!

Thanks!!

davo420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 01:09 AM   #2
Long-Time DIYer

You need to turn the water off and cut off the plastic drain and supply lines with a tubing cutter (copper supply lines) or hacksaw to remove the old and install the new sink cabinet base.
You will need to measure, mark and drill two 3/4" holes in the bottom of the new sink base for the water supply lines, and measure, mark and drill pilot holes for a jigsaw to cut out for the electrical receptacle and drain line hole (unless you have a hole saw the right size) in the back cabinet wall.
The hot water valves coming up through the bottom of the cabinet on the left go to the dishwasher (far left) and to the hot water side of the sink faucet (up), and the valve on the right is the cold water supply going up to the faucet.
Your present drain is ABS black plastic, and you will need to cut those off and replumb the drains. You can use an adapter at the wall (ABS glue) or plug the bottom connection and use the straight black pipe above, if the sink depth allows it. I would use a PVC white plastic sink drain assembly to match what you're connecting. PVC white plastic drains are made to hand-tighten. Turn the flat side of the plastic washer of the slip nut compression rings toward the ring and the beveled side toward the pipe.
Make up the drain assembly loosely while adjusting it to fit, and then go back and tighten all of the slip nuts after you have made it up.