Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-30-2010, 02:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Pipe replacement under slab floor


I have a 1960's ranch w/ basement. The 1-1/2" drain pipe under basement slab needs to be replaced. It is about 24 feet long. What is best solution ? Can it be done ?

sawsco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 06:02 PM   #2
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pipe replacement under slab floor


If you have had it rodded and there is no change then yes it may need to be replaced

There are a couple ways

1. Demo hammed busting out the concrete

2. Concrete saw and demo hammer. This usually give me the best results as it gives sqare edges when pouring back the concrete.

__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Plumber101 For This Useful Post:
sawsco (06-04-2010)
Old 05-31-2010, 07:08 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pipe replacement under slab floor


yes, you'll have to cut/smash the concrete to do it though. Also, why does it need to be replaced?
Charlie.Liu is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Charlie.Liu For This Useful Post:
sawsco (06-04-2010)
Old 06-04-2010, 12:03 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pipe replacement under slab floor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie.Liu View Post
yes, you'll have to cut/smash the concrete to do it though. Also, why does it need to be replaced?
Will be adding more load to the pipe w/ excessive volume (for the pipe size) Thanx !
sawsco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 03:31 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 77
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pipe replacement under slab floor


just a thought, don't know what your circumstance is but if there is nothing wrong with underslab pipe other than size, do you have to tie into it or can you run new pipe for added load over head or around to get from point a to point b?
just a guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 11:50 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pipe replacement under slab floor


Quote:
Originally Posted by just a guy View Post
just a thought, don't know what your circumstance is but if there is nothing wrong with underslab pipe other than size, do you have to tie into it or can you run new pipe for added load over head or around to get from point a to point b?
Yeah, I may have to go over-head. Thanks for the thought.

sawsco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to cover a hole in a floor slab tomseeley Flooring 2 11-16-2009 12:14 PM
Hardwood floor questions (56K) ukrainetz Flooring 1 08-02-2009 01:08 PM
covering a drain pipe in a cement floor sv9779 Plumbing 5 04-10-2009 09:35 PM
Carpet in the basement Packer Backer Flooring 16 11-03-2008 11:19 PM
Question Pipe broke in/under slab Evnldr Plumbing 6 06-25-2008 07:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.