Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-05-2011, 06:06 PM   #1

Share |

pex pipe installed behind drywall broke

Hi Everyone! I am very new to all of this so bear with me.

I was attempting to install my first dishwasher and a buddy of mine was pulling it out of the cavity when the red pex pipe snapped. Now, the brass head is still on the old dishwasher, and a broken red pex pipe is sticking out of the wall.

< see Image #1 >

I googled a bunch and found that my dishwasher was "hardwired". I don't understand why anyone would do this, seems a huge hassle in cases like this.

My question is what to do with this red pex pipe. I need to remove it so I can install my new water cord. Unless of course, there is a way I can fix the pex pipe to get that brass head back on. However, the piping didn't just "pull out" of the brass head to where I could clamp anything back on, it was a different kind that i guess was permanently crimped, and it literally snapped away from the head and is all jagged.

Also, i'd rather use my new cord as it is longer so in the event I need to service dishwasher I can slide it out without another cord breaking -.-

< see Image #2 >

Anyway, My question is: if I cut a square section of the drywall around where the wires are coming out, should the area the red pipe is hooked up to be RIGHT THERE so that I could simply unhook it and hook my new cord up? I don't want to cut it to find it was a 20 ft pipe and the attachment point is god knows where...

< see Image #3 >

If you have any other suggestions please let me know!
Attached Thumbnails
pex pipe installed behind drywall broke-imag01.jpg   pex pipe installed behind drywall broke-imag02.jpg   pex pipe installed behind drywall broke-imag03.jpg  

Last edited by luv2mod; 07-05-2011 at 06:10 PM.
luv2mod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 06:46 PM   #2