Pex Fittings Wont Fit - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-04-2011, 08:22 PM   #1
Wire Chewer

Rewards Points: 2,020

Pex fittings wont fit

I'm new to pex, so I'm probably doing something wrong. I bought some pex (shown in pic) and shark bite and dahl fittings and can't seem to put any of them on it.

The insert that goes inside the pipe does not fit, as the pipe's inner diameter seems too small. It is 1/2 pipe and 1/2 fittings. Do I need to use a heat gun to sofen it first? The pipe is actually very hard, I expected it to be more like medical tubing but a bit harder but this is actually like hard plastic that is flexible but very stiff. Is this the right type of pipe?
Attached Thumbnails
Pex fittings wont fit-pex.jpg  

Advertisement

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 08:33 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 500

Pex fittings wont fit

that doesn't look like the pex you want. what does the whole printed label say? whats the astm number printed on it? that'll tell ya what it is

Advertisement

the_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 08:43 PM   #3
Wire Chewer

Pex fittings wont fit

Says

"BOW Superpex Made with/Fabrique avec TempRite(R) PEX 1/2" CTS MR 1293 ASTM F876/F8// 690 kPa-82C /100 PSI" A lot more stuff on it such as fire rating.
Old 02-04-2011, 08:52 PM   #4

Pex fittings wont fit

hmm... is that pipe black on the inside? never seen that before. it looks like the pex you want to use, 1/2" CTS means it will be 5/8" OD. Try trimming a couple inches then try the sharkbite again
Old 02-04-2011, 09:01 PM   #5
Wire Chewer

Pex fittings wont fit

Yeah it is black inside, here's some more pics.