Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-15-2010, 11:01 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 45
Share |
Default

One (1) 1 1/4" gas pipe v.s. two (2) 1" gas pipe, which is better?


My house needs two (2) 1" gas pipe. One for tankless water heater. Another for furnace, stove and dryer.

Is it a better idea to use one 1 1/4" pipe?

My plumber told me it's much harder to work with 1 1/4" pipe. Is it true?

Thanks a lot!

pttcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 07:35 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 128
Default

One (1) 1 1/4" gas pipe v.s. two (2) 1" gas pipe, which is better?


Depending on how he is equipped it may be harder for him personally. If he has the capability to thread 1 1/4" pipe he would probably do it. I'm guessing he has a hand threader and 1" is the biggest pipe he can thread without borrowing the tooling.

I've run a lot of screw pipe, and I would charge a lot more to run 2 1" pipes the same distance I would a single 1 1/4".

brandonmcginnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 09:13 PM   #3
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,692
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

One (1) 1 1/4" gas pipe v.s. two (2) 1" gas pipe, which is better?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brandonmcginnis View Post
I've run a lot of screw pipe, and I would charge a lot more to run 2 1" pipes the same distance I would a single 1 1/4".


Not to mention double the pipe in 1" probably costs more than a single run of 1-1/4 as well.
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 09:29 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 64
Default

One (1) 1 1/4" gas pipe v.s. two (2) 1" gas pipe, which is better?


I agree with the previous responses.
But, if you still want to use this guy.
Mechanically there is nothing wrong
with running the two 1" pipes
SuperPlumberGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 11:35 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 19
Default

One (1) 1 1/4" gas pipe v.s. two (2) 1" gas pipe, which is better?


another thing you'll have to check is the cfh of the meter itself. You are probably way over what a standard meter is capable of. I think a standard one is 275 cfh. You are pushing in the neighborhood of 350 cfh. Usually a meter can accomodate 10% over its rating but even that its just over 300 cfh. Just food for thought
fhrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 01:01 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 45
Default

One (1) 1 1/4" gas pipe v.s. two (2) 1" gas pipe, which is better?


Thanks to you guys all!

Quote:
Originally Posted by fhrace View Post
another thing you'll have to check is the cfh of the meter itself. You are probably way over what a standard meter is capable of. I think a standard one is 275 cfh. You are pushing in the neighborhood of 350 cfh. Usually a meter can accomodate 10% over its rating but even that its just over 300 cfh. Just food for thought
Is there any bad consequences if I have big appliances and 1 1/4" gas pipe with a small meter? (except my water heater/furnace may not go full power together at the same time.)
pttcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 01:56 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 350
Default

One (1) 1 1/4" gas pipe v.s. two (2) 1" gas pipe, which is better?


The last 1" black pipe I got was $1.35 per foot, the 1.25" was $ 1.83 per foot. So, you will spend $2.70 per foot to run the 1", and twice the labor. Cutting and threading 1.25 will take a little longer than 1", but not much longer, even if he uses a mechanical threader.
fireguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 10:45 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 19
Default

One (1) 1 1/4" gas pipe v.s. two (2) 1" gas pipe, which is better?


You'll have to check with your local gas company but most times they will just change meters out free of charge for you. I think they jump them up to like 300 cfh or 300,000 btu's. Even look on your meter it will say on there the rating. You can install the large pipe but if your meter can't supply it it still won't work properly.

200,000 for tankless
65,000 for range
35,000 for dryer
90,000 for furnace

So I take back what I said about the 350 cfh its closer to 400cfh. So you can see that if the tankless is running and the furnace. Nothing else will run. But like I said check your meter outside. Maybe it is rated and can handle it. If it can then run the 1 1/4"

fhrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to stop sump pump discharge pipe freezing??? relbeig Plumbing 8 11-12-2012 12:03 PM
Can I go up from 3/4" metal gas pipe to a 1" and then back down? Philip_Soldat Plumbing 3 11-09-2009 09:47 AM
Septic/sewer pipe replacement Mendocino Plumbing 4 11-21-2008 05:40 PM
Furnace Venting Requirments jamiedolan HVAC 9 11-18-2008 05:40 PM
Need to support 15th of ABS pipe irishtimes101 Plumbing 3 09-01-2006 11:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.