Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-12-2008, 12:58 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Old preasure valve, new copper pipe.

Getting ready to start a revalve, my main sticks out of the ground only a few inch's. If I start there it's galvanised, so do I put in a galvanised ball valve and then into the preasure regulator and after that switch to copper via dialectric union? Do I replace my preasure valve with a new copper one (is there such a thing)? where do I make the switch to copper?

Thanks Scott

fast380 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 05:19 AM   #2
Long-Time DIYer

Rewards Points: 500

I'm not a pro plumber, just a long-time DIYer.
Sounds like you're planning on replacing your lines with all copper from your main shut-off valve.
If it were me, I would go ahead and replace that old obsolete galvanized back from the meter on (1" "K" copper or white plastic PVC). Galvanized is notorious for scaling up inside, restricting water flow, until it eventually plugs up all together.
I would use a 1" brass quarter-turn shut-off valve for the main, and then copper from there, if that's your choice. If you replace all of the galvanized, you won't have to deal with any di-electric fittings, either.
Have you considered PEX? Easier and much less expensive than copper. That's what most of the pro plumbers are using here now, instead of copper (unless copper is specified by owner).
Good luck!
Mike

Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 11:11 AM   #3

Send a message via AIM to Marlin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Swearingen View Post
I'm not a pro plumber, just a long-time DIYer.
Sounds like you're planning on replacing your lines with all copper from your main shut-off valve.