Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-12-2010, 07:25 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Catskill, NY
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

old house due for hot water update?


We bought a circa 1900 house in which the hot water is generated from a 20yr old furnace. It all works fine, no an issue except that in showering, temp has to be adjusted by turning the cold water down slowly as the shower progresses. No real problem as we don't run out of hot water. I've read a reservoir tank can be added to the furnace OR that an separate hot water tank can be added. Is one significantly better than the other and would either change the temp control issue during showering? Maybe one thing has nothing to do with the other? Thanks very much.

kentannenbaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 09:12 AM   #2
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,750
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

old house due for hot water update?


A reservoir would only work I think if you had a pump on the line to circulate the water through the furnace, otherwise your tank is only going to be storing cold water. I don't know what kind of furnace you have, or anything about your system either, this may not be efficient at all. You'd also need an aquastat in the tank to tell the pump to turn off when the tank reached desired temp.

Maybe someone else will have a better idea.

__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 09:30 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Catskill, NY
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 0
Default

old house due for hot water update?


Thanks for the reply. By "reservoir" I mean the furnace currently provides heat as well as provides hot water. It's designed that way. Probably, the correct way to ask about this is that a another zone would need to be installed with a holding tank for the hot water alone OR a stand alone hot water tank could be installed. Hopefully that's more clear in my question.
kentannenbaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 09:55 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

old house due for hot water update?


Where are you located ?
What fuel source ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 09:57 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Catskill, NY
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 0
Default

old house due for hot water update?


Catskill, NY.......oil furnace.
kentannenbaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anoying sound in house water pipes when sprinklers are ON gante Plumbing 1 06-07-2010 06:04 AM
Water pooling next to house foundation pictures - help suggestions Steelmesh Building & Construction 8 07-03-2009 10:05 AM
Very Low Hot Water Pressure. PAS1970 General DIY Discussions 2 02-25-2009 03:01 PM
Loss of water pressure in my house... stormyjas Plumbing 6 02-15-2007 10:36 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.