Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-18-2008, 07:27 AM   #1

Share |

A O SMITH gas water heater problem

Hello. First I am an electrician so I am not unfamilar with working with the tools.
I have A O SMITH promax gas hot water heater. I woke up to luke warm water on Sat. I re lit the pilot , Turned the thermostat up and down a couple times and the burner lit and turned off as expected. Then later I had cool water again later. Did the same thing. The pilot seems to be going out. The water heater is only say 5 years old. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Joe

joeyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joeyuk For This Useful Post:
sonnyg (08-13-2012)
Old 05-18-2008, 08:42 AM   #2
Plumbing Contractor

Hello:

Tell me is this a closed combustion chamber or an open combustion chamber?

If it an open combustion chamber (door can be removed without tools) then it should be as easy as replacing the thermocouple in the unit. Home depot and lowes sell thermocouples.....just need to shut the gas valve to off and remove/replace the thermocouple.

If it is a closed combustion chamber (need tools to remove the door)...if I understand correctly, warranty is voided if you disturb the gas chamber and don't replace the gasket/seal at the combustion chamber door after you replace the TCO thermocouple..so if closed system, make sure to talk to your local plumbing supply house and ask them to order you a new combustion chamber gasket and may need to order the TCO thermocouple and/or pilot assembly

Check out this website....plug in your model number and check out the information that comes up:

http://www.hotwater.com/lit/im/r-gas.html

Can also give AO Smith a call at 1-800-527-1953 and follow the advise they offer you!!

Anyway, issue here sounds like the thermocouple is gone....should only take 30 minutes to replace once you have the right parts...