Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-25-2011, 04:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Novi American Whirlpool won't turn on


Hi, I have a Novi American whirlpool that won't turn on. Checked the breaker and it's fine. Also opened up the unit and the tubing to the on/off switch is connected. My son was using it last before it stopped working. Is it possibly that a toy got sucked and is causing it to not turn on? Any other ideas? Thanks!

cvanderhoef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 07:52 PM   #2
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,289
Default

Novi American Whirlpool won't turn on


It is plugged into a gfci circuit-----(like the outlet near a sink)

Often the outlet is under the tub or exposed in a room near the tub---If you have opened the access panel unplug the pump and test that outlet---

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 08:04 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Novi American Whirlpool won't turn on


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
It is plugged into a gfci circuit-----(like the outlet near a sink)

Often the outlet is under the tub or exposed in a room near the tub---If you have opened the access panel unplug the pump and test that outlet---

I don't believe there is a GFCI circuit, it's got it separate breaker at the junction box.
cvanderhoef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 08:41 PM   #4
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,692
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Novi American Whirlpool won't turn on


The plug at the whirlpool itself doesn't have the reset and test buttons on it? As mike said, it's supposed to be a GFCI, but I don't know the electrical code on location of the things. I've seen plenty that are underneath a bathtub.
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 09:27 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Novi American Whirlpool won't turn on


Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan View Post
The plug at the whirlpool itself doesn't have the reset and test buttons on it? As mike said, it's supposed to be a GFCI, but I don't know the electrical code on location of the things. I've seen plenty that are underneath a bathtub.
Oh really? Everything I had read said it would have either a GFCI or a breaker for it. I'll take a look under the tub and see if there is a reset on it. Thanks!
cvanderhoef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 09:38 AM   #6
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,289
Default

Novi American Whirlpool won't turn on


I have found the GFCI outlet hidden in odd spots--once behind the toilet---another time in a closet behind the tub---another time in a bedroom near the tub.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 01:17 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Novi American Whirlpool won't turn on


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
I have found the GFCI outlet hidden in odd spots--once behind the toilet---another time in a closet behind the tub---another time in a bedroom near the tub.
I opened it up and I didn't see one but there is so little room down there. My guess is it's on the other side of the motor. It's so cramped I can't even see where the motor is plugged in or the cord for it.
cvanderhoef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:07 PM   #8
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,692
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Novi American Whirlpool won't turn on


Quote:
Originally Posted by cvanderhoef View Post
I opened it up and I didn't see one but there is so little room down there. My guess is it's on the other side of the motor. It's so cramped I can't even see where the motor is plugged in or the cord for it.
That's why I would never put a whirlpool in my own house. The only required access for the thing is big enough for the pump to go in and out. Let alone a guy get even half an arm in there to try and take it apart while he can't even see what he's doing.


__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get unit to turn on need electrical help please-wiring diagram included igotshocked Electrical 33 01-30-2014 05:13 AM
Kohler Whirlpool wont turn on swieder Appliances 0 10-04-2009 11:54 AM
Do I need to turn off water heater? creamaster Plumbing 8 08-19-2009 11:07 AM
Fan and A/C unit won't turn on cadmanim HVAC 1 06-22-2009 02:49 PM
90 degree turn in horizontal 3" main drain wildbilly Plumbing 2 03-14-2009 05:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.