Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-16-2013, 02:16 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

no hot water in apartment (well ok, maybe a little)

First post! I'm not a plumber but i've done a bunch DIY stuff for my parents and siblings. First of all, before you get the wrong idea, since I live in an apartment i do not plan on doing the repairs myself as i believe a professional should be handling major repairs like this. I am here for advice and knowlegde only from guys and gals like you who know much more than i do.

ok here's my problem. I moved into my new apartment 8 days ago. I have not had a hot shower in my apartment yet (and the other faucets get almost-warm, not hot). I have tried showering at all different times throughout the day without really getting any warmer water. I do not have a water heater in my apartment, a bunch of units share a boiler (i have zero experience with boilers).

My first maintenance request got someone out to turn the boiler up. that's all they did and i did not see any difference. I wrote a cordial, but stern letter (3 pages) to my apt people telling them that something is wrong so they had some people out yesterday and today to look at it and the other apartments around me. apparently no one else is having any hot water problems.

I got a call today and they have ordered some shower valves hoping that will fix the problem but... i have my doubts. It is my understanding that if my shower valve was the problem, the other faucets should still have hot water available to them. They do not. In fact, since my sinks only have mildly warm water and my shower doesn't even get that, i have resorted to heating water on my stove to shave with.