No Cold Water - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-31-2011, 02:26 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Exclamation

No cold water

I'm a complete newbie so bear with me. I just bought my first home a couple weeks ago and when I went to turn on cold water to do laundry nothing came out (cold/cold cycle). I made sure the faucets behind the machine were turned on, and hot water worked. Then I checked bathroom sink next to the laundry room and discovered the cold water doesn't work there either. The sink has a single handle to turn cold/hot on and I naively thought the water just got warm quickly because it was next to the hot water heater. But when I turn the cold on only, no water comes out. The kitchen has no issue with the cold water and is on the same floor as the laundry and that bathroom. I also have cold water to all faucets upstairs.

This is a town home with no crawl space. The area where the water isnít working is in the middle of the house and shares a wall with another unit (currently empty). I bought this house on a short sale and did the inspection back in November, but it didnít officially close until March. I donít have a lot of faith in the inspector I used so itís highly possible he missed this, but I do know renters were living there in October and I happened to go on a tour of the unit while they were in there. The renter said there were no issues he was aware of. To me, this is a huge issue and I canít imagine that slipping his mind. Iím wondering if the ďwinterizationĒ caused something to clog the line between the two outlets. Should I talk to the company that did the winterization?