Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-27-2010, 03:33 PM   #1

Share |

New Ice Machine

Hello everyone I am new to this so bear with me.

I bought an ice machine and used a self tapping valve that i jumped off my washer machine, the valve was a t that pierced a 1/2 inch copper line and the business end of the valve was a 1/4 inch for the line to the ice machine which is what the manual called for. Here's the question i have returned that ice machine because it did not make enough ice and currently have a new one in route to me, the new requires a 3/8 inch water line, and i am wondering, if I can convert my 1/4 inch to a 3/8 inch on the business end of the valve so that I can run a new 3/8 line. I am calling it the business end because I dont know the correct name for that.

Jwdawgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 04:28 PM   #2

New Ice Machine

Hooked up and seen many residential ice makers ...none with water supply more than 1/4 ". You know when you first start using them it takes a day or two to fill the bin.. very slow.

I would use the 1/4 inch line but I would remove the saddle valve and replace it with a regular 1/2 valve tee'ed off then reduced to 1/4 .

Saddle valves suck and are nothing but trouble.. you might be restricting the flow.

COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 05:30 PM   #3

New Ice Machine

used the saddle valve because i don't know how to sweat. and didn't want to pay a plumber $100 to do it, was very easy and painless + it came with the kit with 1/4 inch line and compression sleeves .... the new ice machine that is coming is a lot bigger and guessing that it just requires more water,I don't really know but the manual on the new unit says it it 3/8.
Jwdawgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 06:28 AM   #4

New Ice Machine