Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-13-2010, 12:21 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

New House + PEX + Plastic Fittings = ?

*Disclaimer - I have no practical plumbing experience, just common sense (i think)

So we moved into a brand new home a few weeks ago, which is plumbed trunk & branch style using 3/4 and 1/2 PEX. We moved about a mile from our old home which had GREAT pressure and volume, so the city supply is fine. Problem is at the new place, the volume is horrendous. Upstairs tubs flow at a trickle, and yes I've opened all the valves all the way. I believe the culprit is that upon closer inspection there are a myriad of 90's, and couplings all over. The idea that you save on fittings with PEX was lost with this plumber. Compound all those fittings by the fact that they're ALL PLASTIC, then I think i see whats going on here. I'm squeezing the flow all through the with the tiny I.D. of those plastic fittings.
I'll be taking pictures of what I think is outrageous this weekend, but in the meantime, I was hoping to get some opinion if my theory is correct. I'm going over options for alleviating the problem, which basically is;
1. Redo with PEX correctly using sweeps, solid lines to fixtures and brass fittings
2. Retro fit all the plastic fittings with compressions like SharkBite
3. Go big and go copper wherever i can reach.

I can easily get to everything on the 1st floor, but upstairs will have to wait until a later date since sweetheart is not going to be happy with the drywall coming down in her living room to reach the upstairs baths.