Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-30-2006, 11:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new bathroom


Can I build a platform to put new pipes under instead of cutting the floor/concrete?

I can go alongside an existing wall all the way to the other side.

I have a bathroom to go 28' to the other outside wall where the septic tank is located .. I can easily go along the wall with a 10" high x 10" wide 'step' to hide the pipes or even build a chase wall on top of that step for what I will need.

I am not worried about the stacks as I can 'chase' anything that will be needed ... if I 'slope' 1/8 " for a 3" pipe or 1/4" to a foot for A 4" pipe it seems that I have plenty of space with a platform to do it ... how much of an elbow?? do I need under the bath and toilet ... will a 8" or 10" platform do it?
if someone can help I can e-mail something more elaborate ...
Thanks

Rolandc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 02:39 PM   #2
Journeyman Plumber
 
Ron The Plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 1,994
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

new bathroom


If after you rough in the flange setting and add the elbow to toilet then space between the bottom of el and the floor will tell you how far you can run, i.e if say you have 4" left then you can only run 16' of pipe.

Depending on the distance to a wall will depend on how much room will be need to keep the slope at a proper grade 2 1/2" of drop is need for every 10' of run.

You can use short turn els under the toilet, so get an elbow and see what it will take.

Bathtub will have the trap just below it, these will have plenty of room for grade.

1/4" per foot is required for all the drains in the house.

Ron The Plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 05:49 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new bathroom


thank you for your reply ... I was also told that for a 3" pipe I can go as low as 1/8" instead of 1/4" slope ... what do you think?
Rolandc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 05:52 PM   #4
Journeyman Plumber
 
Ron The Plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 1,994
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

new bathroom


It must be set to 1/4" per foot all sizes inside the house.
Ron The Plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2006, 06:11 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new bathroom


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron The Plumber
It must be set to 1/4" per foot all sizes inside the house.

Thank you very much again ..it was very helpful.
Rolandc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 03:34 PM
Leaking bathroom floor patatura Flooring 6 12-06-2008 06:30 PM
Second level / attic bathroom size moneymgmt General DIY Discussions 2 05-02-2007 07:32 AM
Redmodeling basement bathroom amakarevic Plumbing 5 04-23-2007 08:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.