Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2006, 07:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

new basement bath


Hi All

I am new to this forum and need some help.
I have broken the concrete and located the drain. I need some help in understanding the venting that is required.

Thanks

dsmith

dsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 09:41 PM   #2
Journeyman Plumber
 
Ron The Plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 1,994
Rewards Points: 0
Default

new basement bath


Need more info, what are you installing? What type of drain did you find? What is the floor plan? Where do you live? How do you know you found the drain?

You left your question wide open, we need more info then what you provided.

Ron The Plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 06:53 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

new basement bath


It is a ranch style home with bathrooms at both ends of the house on the main level. I am adding a bath, shower and lavatory below one of the baths. I am located in St louis. The drain is cast iron and runs the full length of the house with stacks at both ends.
The new toilet is 2.5 feet from the main drain as is the new shower.
The new commode is close to the stack such that I could go up thru the wll into the attic and tie in the new vent. Can I tie in the vent from the shower just above the trap and run it in the ground to the new commode and then go up into the stack??
dsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2006, 08:43 AM   #4
Journeyman Plumber
 
Ron The Plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 1,994
Rewards Points: 0
Default

new basement bath


Did you get a permit to do this work? What your about to do will require one. With a permit will be inspections, these will ensure you it is done correctly.

The code I use here will not be the code you use there, installing a whole new bathroom is a complicated task, this is something even I can't possible talk you though here on line, unless someone else chimes in thats lives in your area and nows your codes, the best I can tell you is hit a HD somewhere and read up on installing plumbing, also read the codes, they specify how to plumb the waste and water.
Ron The Plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I need a HVAC return vent in basement? westing HVAC 13 04-03-2014 01:43 AM
Wiring for half bath in basement ELurie Electrical 5 08-06-2011 09:06 PM
Basement - need to bust up about 1 ft deeper FallenAngel Building & Construction 7 08-15-2007 09:09 AM
Sub Basement Walkout - Please Help pgs_28 Building & Construction 11 08-12-2007 09:55 PM
Wet Basement being fixed (pics) harleysilo Remodeling 2 01-23-2007 08:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.