Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2011, 07:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kingman AZ
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need help from a plumber


how full should a septic tank be

ccampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 07:07 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

Need help from a plumber


A septic tank stays full, The soilds fall to the bottom and the liquids over flow and run out to the leach field.
Why are you asking?
I septic tank needs to be pumped out about every 5 years depanding on usage due to the soilds filling up the bottom of the tank.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 07:12 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kingman AZ
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need help from a plumber


i had the tank pumped 1 month ago so i could repair the line from the house to the tank. i replaced the pipe. ileft the lid and pipe uncovered so a plumber could inspect the work. and one day water was coming out of the tank lid
ccampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 07:24 PM   #4
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,137
Rewards Points: 2,916
Default

Need help from a plumber


That sounds like a blockage from the tank to the leach field----see if you can locate the distribution box(s) and pull the lid(s)
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 07:26 PM   #5
Plumber/Contractor
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 7,155
Rewards Points: 2,470
Default

Need help from a plumber


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
That sounds like a blockage from the tank to the leach field----see if you can locate the distribution box(s) and pull the lid(s)

Or your outlet baffle may be plugged.
TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 07:29 PM   #6
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,137
Rewards Points: 2,916
Default

Need help from a plumber


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEplumber View Post
Or your outlet baffle may be plugged.

This is exactly why I like your answers---you know more than I do!
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 07:29 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kingman AZ
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need help from a plumber


the house was built in 1980 i was told it has 1 drain line. dose it have a box? the fluid seems to stay about 7 inches from the top of the tank but we have been using the water less till i find the problem
ccampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 07:33 PM   #8
Plumber/Contractor
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 7,155
Rewards Points: 2,470
Default

Need help from a plumber


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
This is exactly why I like your answers---you know more than I do!
Thanks Mike- just expounding on your wisdom
TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 07:37 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kingman AZ
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need help from a plumber


i was also told that sludge could have broke loose and plugged the outlet line from when it was pumped. i have added tank treatment to the system. but i dont want to over flow the system again. the first time i put it in was about a week ago. should i wait a while longer or add somthing eles?
ccampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 08:19 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kingman AZ
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need help from a plumber


what is a baffle?
ccampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 08:32 PM   #11
Plumber/Contractor
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 7,155
Rewards Points: 2,470
Default

Need help from a plumber


Quote:
Originally Posted by ccampbell View Post
what is a baffle?
It is the tee that is located at the inlet and outlet of the tank. Take a look at this site. it has some good info to help understand your system
http://www.epa.gov/owm/septic/pubs/h...guide_long.pdf
TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 08:42 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kingman AZ
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need help from a plumber


just loked at it so its not somthing that opens and closes. i guess if it dont have a box i just have to FIND the outlet cut a hole in the leach line and get a snake in there and goe down stream and to the tank to find the obstruction right?
ccampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 08:50 PM   #13
Plumber/Contractor
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 7,155
Rewards Points: 2,470
Default

Need help from a plumber


If you have only one leg in the field then you won't have a dist. box.
You should have a inspection hole in your tank to access the outlet tee/baffle. You can run a cable thru the tee and out to your drain field. You might have sludge or a soft plug like you mentioned earlier.
TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 09:05 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kingman AZ
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Need help from a plumber


ok i will try to find the other lid and go from there. i hope it is somthing like that and not a bad leach line. thanks for your tips
ccampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 09:49 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

Need help from a plumber


I've never heard of just one leach line unless it was some DIY job done 30 years ago.
Anything done in the past 20 years or so would have a d box and several lines running off from that point.
Most likly a plug any place from a vent line from when it plugged up last time to the tank, not from the tank to the leach field.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
And The Leak Goes On!....Two Visits From the Plumber Later spyboy Plumbing 11 04-16-2011 10:12 PM
Dishonest Plumber Left Major [Expensive] Issues ConsumerTalk Plumbing 4 03-27-2011 02:23 PM
Plumber installed thermal Expansion tank without adjusting pre-charge markwo Plumbing 2 01-21-2010 01:41 PM
I Called a Plumber, Now I really need Help! kswoot Plumbing 8 10-14-2008 08:57 PM
HELP! I'm NOT a plumber. And I don't play one on T.V.! kswoot Plumbing 20 10-02-2008 02:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.