Navien CR-240a Tankless Water Heater Issues - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2010, 04:40 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Oregon, United States
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

Navien CR-240a tankless water heater issues


Hello, we just installed a Navien CC-240a gas tankless hot water heater in our garage. However, there seems to be a major problem with it. With everything hooked up (correctly I might add) there is no response from the water heater after being plugged in. On the control board, the display does not turn on, there is no clicking from the ignitor, and no pump trys to run. The only thing that changes is the red LED light on the
middle of the board. This light stays on for about 15 seconds, turns off for about 15 seconds, and then blinks 36 times. That's it, there is no other response from the unit. After researching it online, I have yet to run across another person who has had this problem. We checked the flow sensor, made sure the plug polerities are correct, there is plenty of water running to the unit as well. I don't know what else to check.

I found a website that told us to hold the left button on the control board down until the display read 0.0 (to check the flow sensor), but that never happens. It just sits there, blinking at us in a very mocking way.

If anyone has any kind of idea as to get the dang thing up and running, or at least responding, please let me know here or at my email, which is my username, but @yahoo.com

thank you sooooo much (in advance)

Advertisement

PoWn3d_0704 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 12:13 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Navien CR-240a tankless water heater issues


I am not sure if you got a response but hopefully you were able to get it running. I have a Navien CR 210A and it has been a real headache. The wter turns cold randomly duirng a shower and now there is somethign wrong with the gas valve (I think). Does anyone have any experinece with either of these issues?

Any help woudl be greatly appreciated.

Advertisement

jklump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 02:18 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: oregon
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Navien CR-240a tankless water heater issues


Quote:
Originally Posted by PoWn3d_0704 View Post
Hello, we just installed a Navien CC-240a gas tankless hot water heater in our garage. However, there seems to be a major problem with it. With everything hooked up (correctly I might add) there is no response from the water heater after being plugged in. On the control board, the display does not turn on, there is no clicking from the ignitor, and no pump trys to run. The only thing that changes is the red LED light on the
middle of the board. This light stays on for about 15 seconds, turns off for about 15 seconds, and then blinks 36 times. That's it, there is no other response from the unit. After researching it online, I have yet to run across another person who has had this problem. We checked the flow sensor, made sure the plug polerities are correct, there is plenty of water running to the unit as well. I don't know what else to check.

I found a website that told us to hold the left button on the control board down until the display read 0.0 (to check the flow sensor), but that never happens. It just sits there, blinking at us in a very mocking way.

If anyone has any kind of idea as to get the dang thing up and running, or at least responding, please let me know here or at my email, which is my username, but @yahoo.com

thank you sooooo much (in advance)
You are kidding! I'm having EXACTLY the same issue. The system is a dead dog and what's really annoying is that the website doesn't describe a NORMAL sequence of operation (like does the LED display light up normally?) Anyway I'm a very experienced HVAC tech and I can't figure it out. I think the board is bad. The only thing I've found that is strange is the 110 volt power cord supplied with the unit is backwards so 110v power is supplied on the neutral leg of the GFI power switch. However the manual doesn't reference polarity as an issue but it does talk about proper grounding. I have made sure the transformer is working and the board has power. I've got 30 hours in the sucker. Please keep me posted.
crmont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 06:38 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Navien CR-240a tankless water heater issues


My plumber came today and brought the local sales rep for Navien. They replaced the mother board and so far so good. If you can, call the local rep. He cam with teh new board and installed it, I think they were here a couple hours and no charge.

Thanks for your response. Good luck.
jklump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 10:42 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Navien CR-240a tankless water heater issues


Hey, what website were you on where it gave you troubleshooting? I just had an NR-180A installed and have even had the tech come back. It takes about 3-4 minutes for the water to get hot and when I have more than one faucet on, the flow out gets reduced to a trickle. The tech tells me it is because the input water temp is so cold (in southeastern PA), but I don't think the internal recirculation is turned on. How do you guys have this set up in yours?
hpressman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 09:25 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Thumbs down

Navien CR-240a tankless water heater issues


Quote:
Originally Posted by jklump View Post
I am not sure if you got a response but hopefully you were able to get it running. I have a Navien CR 210A and it has been a real headache. The wter turns cold randomly duirng a shower and now there is somethign wrong with the gas valve (I think). Does anyone have any experinece with either of these issues?

Any help woudl be greatly appreciated.
I have the same problem, only we have a 240A. You keep having to play with the faucets to keep the temperature steady. I also get E010 in cold temps. Happened again last night, we had no hot water until this morning, when it started to work again. Will be talking to the plumbing outfit that installed it today. Anyone have any thoughts on the E010 issue?
kermit2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 11:10 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Navien CR-240a tankless water heater issues


We had that problem with pur 240a unit. I think it was the same code. There is a black vinyl tube inside the unit that wasn't fully connected. The tech moved it and it started working. It is about a quarter inch in diameter and was black in my unit. Just make sure the connections are tight.
hpressman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 01:33 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Navien CR-240a tankless water heater issues


I have 40 (+) Navien units out there. This is a strange one, does the electrical plug outlet have a GFI button. I have found this is sometimes an issue. Do you have the wall mounted lcd control?
Navien Plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 09:12 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Thumbs up

Navien CR-240a tankless water heater issues


Well, I have serviced about 40 of the Navian Tankless heaters this year. I find that the most common problem when homeowners install them is not having the correct gas sizing to the unit and not enough water pressure to the house. Even though there may be 3/4" stubbing out of the wall may not always be alright. You need to check gas sizing from the distance from the meter to were your unit is located. Most of the time we have to do some sort of gas repipe to accomidate the BTU's. Also, the venting is important as well. Make sure you have a condensate drain on your system if the venting exceeds 5' vertical feet. This is always the problem why the boards short out or other electrical issues occur. And last the factory sends them with a default dip switch setting on the board for the circ pump, make sure you set it to your application. Hope this info helps
yeagerbomber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 09:26 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Navien CR-240a tankless water heater issues


Had this unit installed about a year and a half ago, it was used for an addition to our house only, with infloor heating, when our water heater went in the main house we opened the valves and started using the Navien which has cold and hot fluctuations, parts but no labour warranty, not nice, Navien sent new sensors, board and hoses(which plumber put hoses in wrong spot and took tech poeple to figure it for him 2.5 hours out of my pocket)maybe someone out there can help, after new parts same problem, but did figure one thing out, I have the shower unit with one fixed head and one wand, total of 5 GPM with both on water is hot, shut one off water turns cold, answers? anybody please.
metalman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 10:27 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Lightbulb

Navien CR-240a tankless water heater issues


Check and see if the water coming out of faucets is steady hot. If so the problem is with the Shower valve. Water heaters heat water and I get lots of calls about showers going cold and temps fluctuating and when we turn on 4 of 5 faucets we get consistant water temps but the shower valves are pressure balanced and/or Thermostaticly controled. cold water overcomes the pressure of the hot water and the showewr valve operates incorrectly.
Manufact. Rep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 01:57 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Navien CR-240a tankless water heater issues


So what your saying is, if I replace my old tank water heater it will fix this problem since it worked fine before, two showers in house both doing same thing, filled hot tub on weekend, turned tap to full hot then took six hours for tub to bring temperature from 85 degrees. I just love this machine!
metalman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 05:22 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Exclamation

Navien CR-240a tankless water heater issues


I have had a CR-240A for almost three years. All of the warrenty work has been preformed by the plumbers that installed the unit. Last night I had a visit from the police, fire department and the local gas utility company because my neighbor was smelling natural gas outside his and my house. After a lot of checking we tracked the smell to the exhurst port of my Navien cr-240a tankless water heater. When the exhust gasses were measured there was over 125ppm of unburned natural gas being exhausted from the unit. According to the local gas utility worker an acceptable reading is typically under 10 ppm of conbustable gas in the exhaust. He caution tagged my water heater and shut it down. The plumber came out checked over the unit, called tech support and was told that 125ppm was normal. If that is normal then why did the utility shut it down and why do I smell natural gas if it is running. Has anyone else had this problem? It does not sound 98% effecient to me.
Thaddus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 11:22 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 103
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Navien CR-240a tankless water heater issues


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thaddus
I have had a CR-240A for almost three years. All of the warrenty work has been preformed by the plumbers that installed the unit. Last night I had a visit from the police, fire department and the local gas utility company because my neighbor was smelling natural gas outside his and my house. After a lot of checking we tracked the smell to the exhurst port of my Navien cr-240a tankless water heater. When the exhust gasses were measured there was over 125ppm of unburned natural gas being exhausted from the unit. According to the local gas utility worker an acceptable reading is typically under 10 ppm of conbustable gas in the exhaust. He caution tagged my water heater and shut it down. The plumber came out checked over the unit, called tech support and was told that 125ppm was normal. If that is normal then why did the utility shut it down and why do I smell natural gas if it is running. Has anyone else had this problem? It does not sound 98% effecient to me.
I'm not a plumber but I sell, install and service flammable gas monitors and will say that 125ppm is not even close to being a flammable or explosive concentration of natural gas. The lower explosion limit for methane, the main component of natural gas is around 50,000ppm. Natural gas is odorized with stinky sulfur based mercaptan compounds that can be sniffed by the human nose at concentrations in the low ppb range.
Even though 125ppm is not flammable, the smell of mercaptans in natural gas is annoying and freaks out most people including me. I wish I had an answer about why the utility shut you down but it sounds like they based their decision on the local utility worker stating that 10ppm or less is normal.
I'm sorry to hear about your problems but I'm glad that you've shared it here at the forum. My engineer buddy did his research and he said that in his opinion, the Navian tankless water heaters are the best. He hasn't made his purchase yet so I will make sure to share your post with him.

Good Luck,
VC
vcheez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 06:12 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Navien CR-240a tankless water heater issues


I find this interesting. Everyone I talk to say this is the best tankless water heater on the market.

With all these problems did anyone check the gas pressure at the water heater.

The pipe should be sized according to distance and load.
If you use the same pipe size as the old tank water heater and the tankless heater has more BTU's , which it probably does, you may not
have enough pressure to operate the heater. If it is border line and other gas appliances come on it may cause the fluctuation in the amount of gas available causing temp problem everyone is complaining about.

Before the heater regulator valve you should have a minimum of 5.5 WC
and after the regulator you have a minimum of 3.5 WC

Advertisement

JJP301 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tankless water heater to pre-heat incoming water matthet Plumbing 28 12-20-2011 09:11 AM
Tankless Water Heater Problem Thalweg Plumbing 4 12-10-2009 01:18 PM
Tankless Water Heater on 150 amp House? deeze Plumbing 9 08-17-2009 10:00 PM
water heater issues Missydo Plumbing 17 04-05-2005 10:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts