Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2007, 11:56 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 133
Rewards Points: 75
Default

making holes in the joists to run pipe


Hi everyone!

I am planning to put a bath tub in bedroom. the house has joists going in wrong direction. plumber said he will have to make holes in the joists to run the pipe. is it a common practice and is it safe? would the inspector have any problems with this?

Also, some of the plumbers that looked at the job should replace the old pipes and old vent .... but most said i could use current pipes. What is the right thing to do?

thanks

christy123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 10:11 AM   #2
with Mrs. Jeep
 
JeepCop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Jayhawk Country
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

making holes in the joists to run pipe


I'm by no means an expert, but from what you've said, it is common practice to run the lines through the studs/joists. They have to make it to the final destination somehow. As far as the pipes, I guess it's a matter of cost and the condition of the current pipes...

JeepCop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 10:48 AM   #3
Journeyman Plumber
 
Ron The Plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 1,994
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

making holes in the joists to run pipe


Drilling holes is normal, some rules apply, a plumber should know these rules, we use existing plumbing all the time, if in good shape, replacement of old pipes can get costly, your decission.
__________________
Fix it right the first time, so you won't have to fix it a 2nd time.

2008 Oregon Specialty Plumbing Codes
Ron The Plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 11:21 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 133
Rewards Points: 75
Default

making holes in the joists to run pipe


thanks guys
christy123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 06:03 PM   #5
747
registered
 
747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Illinois (kankakee county)
Posts: 1,344
Rewards Points: 524
Default

making holes in the joists to run pipe


If the pipes are copper i would keep them. If there galvanized i would consider having them replaced with copper. Galvanized pipes will corode on the inside if there old.
747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 04:05 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

making holes in the joists to run pipe


Is there a maximum size hole you can drill? ie. 1/4 of the joist depth....1/3 of joist?

tdferguson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacement pipe for hot water heat? Tmb9862 HVAC 18 01-12-2007 04:31 PM
Need to support 15th of ABS pipe irishtimes101 Plumbing 3 09-01-2006 12:09 PM
Wood Burner Installation Question? fisher501 HVAC 1 12-22-2005 10:29 PM
Vent Pipe Leak romeguy1 Plumbing 9 12-11-2005 01:08 AM
Spacing of ceiling joists Pineconeman Building & Construction 3 05-14-2005 12:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.