Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-09-2009, 11:21 AM   #1
Saftety First!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

LP Gas Line


My home uses LP gas supplied from a 300 gallon tank
outside the house. The gas line from the tank to the house
is 1/2 inch soft copper tubing buried to a depth of about
6 to 8 inches. I really don't think that is deep enough.
Also, I'm thinking of replacing the old hot water
heater with a tankless LP gas model. I've heard
that the gas lines must be larger for the tankless.
Can I replace the 1/2 inch copper line with a larger diameter
new type flexible gas line that I see in the in Menards
and HD stores? I think that it should be buried deeper too.

loyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 12:32 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

LP Gas Line


don't use the trac pipe. It's to thin. Go back with copper or pipe. It will need to be coated to protect against corrosion. It will also need to be sized for the BTU of the tankless

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 12:52 PM   #3
Saftety First!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

LP Gas Line


Ok.
Sounds good.

What about burial depth?
loyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 02:28 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

LP Gas Line


Depth is OK, propane doesn't freeze. Do you own the tank and the regulator? If not any changes will have to be done by your propane supplier.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 02:37 PM   #5
Saftety First!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

LP Gas Line


I was'nt worried about freezing gas line.
Was wondering what the code says about burial depth.
loyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 02:42 PM   #6
Saftety First!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

LP Gas Line


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmac View Post
don't use the trac pipe. It's to thin. Go back with copper or pipe. It will need to be coated to protect against corrosion. It will also need to be sized for the BTU of the tankless

I'm not sure that I've ever seen coated copper pipe.
Can I buy that way, or do I need to coat it somehow?
loyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 03:26 PM   #7
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

LP Gas Line


depth .. anywhere from 24 to 36 " . They make a plastic sleeve ... Yellow is for gas, blue for cold water, red for hot water
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 07:52 PM   #8
Saftety First!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

LP Gas Line


Just one more question.

Is there any reason why I
would not be allowed to run
my own LP gas supply line
from the tank to my house?
loyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 09:18 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

LP Gas Line


Once an LP line is diconnected and reconnected it must be pressure tested before the LP is turned back on, at least that is a requirement here. I have never heard of a requirement that it be 24" to 36" in ground.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 10:05 PM   #10
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

LP Gas Line


Don't know what's allowed in your area. Here you have to be licensed by state propane board. Ask your propane supplier if they have any problems with you running your own line
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 03:48 AM   #11
Safe, Most of the Time!!
 
brokenknee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 652
Rewards Points: 500
Default

LP Gas Line


In MN you can do your own work; but it still needs to be pressure checked.
__________________
"Clarity to Agreement" Dennis Prager

Picture/Photo Pitcher/Carafe ------- Where/Someplace Were/Be
brokenknee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 02:58 PM   #12
Saftety First!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

LP Gas Line


I noticed that the 1/2 inch copper tubing that is connected at the LP tank
regulator, is a flared fitting. If I connect 3/4 inch copper to the regulator instead of 1/2 inch copper, does it still have to be a flared fitting?
Are flared fittings the best way to go for gas lines?
loyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 03:19 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

LP Gas Line


Flared are what is required here, and they must be gas rated flared fittings.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 06:12 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Cool

LP Gas Line


Here in PA, gas line must be 18 inches, as far as your tankless heater, the btu's can run up to around 200,000. Since your heating your house with a 300 gallon tank and you say you're running 1/2 inch copper, I assume you have a 2 stage system(10 psi regulator(usually red) on the tank and a 1/2psi(11-14 inch water collumn, usually brown) regulator at the house. If so, the half inch copper will work but some repiping may need to be done inside. Here in PA, only flared or brazed connections are allowed, no compression or sweat fittings. A homeowner can run their own lines here but the LP gas supplier must be notified to perform a pressure test before filling the tank. Hope this helps
Buzzard Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 06:35 PM   #15
Saftety First!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

LP Gas Line


Yes thanks for the reply Bill.

You are exactly right. Red regulator on tank. Brown at house.
If I understand you correctly, the 1/2 inch copper outside is OK.
And I just need to increase the diameter of the black pipe inside the house
from the outside brown regulator to the on demand LP water heater.
I plan to get the smaller heater. There is only the wife and I and
we only have one bathroom. The black pipe inside the house now
is 3/4 inch all the way to where the water heater would be mounted.
which is only a few feet inside the basement from the outside brown
regulator.

loyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing damaged BX line in kitchen wall fishnyc22 Electrical 5 02-17-2009 12:40 PM
Water supply line replacement bamaknox Plumbing 2 01-08-2009 08:51 AM
electric line and gas line couch potatoe Electrical 17 09-30-2008 10:43 PM
Installing exterior faucet to washer line? skellies Plumbing 3 06-18-2006 08:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.