LP Gas High Pressure Line - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2011, 11:50 AM   #1
Still going...
 
ChrisDIY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Indianapolis Area
Posts: 985
Rewards Points: 500
Blog Entries: 19
Default

LP gas high pressure line


Hello!

Does anyone know of there are any regulations that prohibit a high pressure LP line from running through the residence? When they installed the outside high pressure line they hit my septic pipe and it had to be repaired. Preparing for generator install and septic line follows the outside perimeter of the house where future LP line will need to run and I'm sure they'll hit it again. PVC pipe so no real way to locate it. I guess this also would be determined by whether the regulator can be installed next to generator?

If not will be forced to run generator wires through house a 30-40 foot run one way, so aluminum. I don't even want to know how much copper would be.

Need to avoid trenching.

Advertisement

__________________
--Chris the DIY Guy

Master Bath, still going...
ChrisDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 06:21 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 762
Rewards Points: 588
Default

LP gas high pressure line


FYI, generators are usually located nearer the gas service so you don't have long runs of pipe.

30-40 feet of wire is not a long distance. What size generator?

How much is the gas line? You using copper?

Advertisement


Last edited by AandPDan; 10-20-2011 at 06:28 PM.
AandPDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 06:32 PM   #3
Still going...
 
ChrisDIY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Indianapolis Area
Posts: 985
Rewards Points: 500
Blog Entries: 19
Default

LP gas high pressure line


Quote:
Originally Posted by AandPDan View Post
FYI, generators are usually located nearer the gas service so you don't have long runs of pipe.

30-40 feet of wire is not a long distance. What size generator?
20 Kw, that's $800 of copper wire...

If I am going to have to favor one outcome over another I will put it as close to the LP regulator as possible and have wires run to it. Have electrician put it in conduit, I can't have any more trenching.
__________________
--Chris the DIY Guy

Master Bath, still going...
ChrisDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 07:06 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 762
Rewards Points: 588
Default

LP gas high pressure line


Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisDIY View Post
20 Kw, that's $800 of copper wire...
That's not just for the wire, you MUST be including installation.

#4 THWN in PVC conduit?

Even at the Orange store you can get 500' for less than $1 a foot.
AandPDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 11:03 PM   #5
Still going...
 
ChrisDIY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Indianapolis Area
Posts: 985
Rewards Points: 500
Blog Entries: 19
Default

LP gas high pressure line


Quote:
Originally Posted by AandPDan View Post
That's not just for the wire, you MUST be including installation.

#4 THWN in PVC conduit?

Even at the Orange store you can get 500' for less than $1 a foot.
I was under the impression I needed 2/0 wire. Normally the wire would exit the house, enter the ground and come back up at generator. I would be doing the entire wire above ground so inside of conduit, i.e. no trenching. GIven my initial question generator may have to be 5' from house.
__________________
--Chris the DIY Guy

Master Bath, still going...

Last edited by ChrisDIY; 10-20-2011 at 11:05 PM.
ChrisDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 09:41 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 762
Rewards Points: 588
Default

LP gas high pressure line


What does the installer suggest? You're only taking the feed from the generator to your transfer switch which should be located very close to the panel.

You may/may not be able to use #4 due to the temp rating, 60c vs. 75c degree ratings, but, #3 cu is rated for 85 and #2 cu is rated at 95 amps, at 60c.

Check with you local AHJ.

2/0 is rated at 145 amps.
AandPDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 11:59 AM   #7
Still going...
 
ChrisDIY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Indianapolis Area
Posts: 985
Rewards Points: 500
Blog Entries: 19
Default

LP gas high pressure line


Thanks!

I need more help on the LP line than the electrical, actually.

Advertisement

__________________
--Chris the DIY Guy

Master Bath, still going...
ChrisDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lennox xp15 high pressure fault code GEAF HVAC 10 03-11-2011 09:44 PM
Water Pressure issues after repairing main water line. Cleve99 Plumbing 2 01-26-2011 08:13 PM
High pressure Shower Head Carloscda Plumbing 9 06-18-2010 01:50 AM
Running a secondary high pressure line Randell Tarin General DIY Discussions 6 02-18-2008 12:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts