Low Water Pressure Whole House - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-10-2013, 12:36 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Low water pressure whole house

I'm a novice plumber. Bought my house 4 yrs ago and the copper was taken in the basement. Bought a book and a pex tool. Moved the kitchen sink and hooked up to the old copper. Yay, done. No problems.

In the last few months the cold water specifically has less pressure, but both are low. The toilet totally disables cold shower water, etc.

Anyhow, my shutoff at the street was old and crooked, and my main shut off in the basement leaked. I first replaced the shut off in the basement. No more leak, no better pressure. So, just today, I got the water department to replace the shutoff at the street...pressure is worse. I'm at my wit's end. Lower pressure after 3 years!

House main is totally open, BTW.

Advertisement

spdrcer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 08:12 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 616

With all that replumbing did you remove the aerators on the faucets and flush out the lines. If not there full of trash.
Did you use at least 3/4" for the main runs where you replaced the pipes?
Flushed out the sediment in the bottom of the water heater? (that's not causing the low pressure but there has to be some trash in there from all the plumbing work)

Advertisement

Old 08-10-2013, 08:19 AM   #3
DIY staff

Rewards Points: 3,222

Have you checked the water pressure right after the main shut off? Add a spigot right there and put a pressure gauge on the new spigot---

No sense ripping the house apart if you simply do not have proper pressure coming in-----

Also do a volume check----I do not have time to run you through that test--but someone else will--
Old 08-10-2013, 08:25 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 616

A gauge on an outside faucet will give you static pressure.