Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-20-2010, 09:10 PM   #1

Share |

Low/No Hot Water Pressure after changing Elements

Hey ya'll,
I have searched the net and forums and sites, now I must ask here.

I have no plumbing experience.

I replaced the elements in a 2 element 30 gallon Mor Flo water heater. The water gets hot, however it does NOT come out of any faucets or whatever at this time.

I have drained the water heater multiple times, not all the way, but at least for 10 to 20 minutes. Most everything that will come out, has come out, sediment-wise.

So when I originally turned everything back on, we had no pressure, it was barely a trickle on the hot water side.

I have water coming out of the Hot water Out from the top of the water heater. But now the bath tub and bathroom sink have no hot water coming out, if at all, the sink is now Not putting out cold water, but the bathtub is, and the kitchen sink has no water coming out of the hot, but plenty of the cold.
So, Bathtub, cold = yes hot = not even a trickle now
Bathroom sink, cold = no, hot = air, no water
Kitchen Sink, cold = yes hot = no water

I finally got the bright idea of putting CLR in the Hot Water tube, and I got nothing fixed, and a metallic hum of a noise from the water heater.

The top is literally a cold in, a hot out, as it is a 30 gallon tank. Nothing else is "apparent".

I have tapped the piping, used the clr, please help, I have figured out that the water IS going OUT the heater, but just not to anywhere....
Please help!

Onehipcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 09:27 PM   #2

Oh, and as a PS, everything worked fine right before I had to replace the elements.

Old 07-20-2010, 09:44 PM   #3

possibly the cold water valve above the tank broke when you shut it off common with gate valves. Also clean all your aireators
plumberinlaw is offline   Reply With Quote