Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-15-2008, 07:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

lost pressure for few minutes


hi folks hope someone can can help me out with some solutions here in Nova Scotia.....i'm on a private well and the water has stopped runnning for up to 5 min and then kicks back on and runs fine until the pressure runs out..then does the same thing.....i have changed both the switch and pressure gauge but still no go thxs ..caper

caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 07:14 PM   #2
Building and plumbing
 
USP45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: farmville, VA
Posts: 244
Default

lost pressure for few minutes


check the line going to the pressure swithch. What happens is that rust and sediment build up in this pipe which is usually 1/4". it dont take much to clog it. When the tank is full and the switch cuts off you open a tap. The water comes out the ballast tank dropping the pressure. Because of the corrosion inside the line to the pressure switch the pressure stays up on the bottom of the switch which then slowly lets the pressure out (Like letting the air out a baloon slowly) and will reduce after the tank pressure has dropped. Then the pump will kick on and the pressure will build again. In a nutshell the corrosion is just not letting the pressure drop fast enough to keep up with the tank.

USP45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 07:50 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11
Default

lost pressure for few minutes


Quote:
Originally Posted by USP45 View Post
check the line going to the pressure swithch. What happens is that rust and sediment build up in this pipe which is usually 1/4". it dont take much to clog it. When the tank is full and the switch cuts off you open a tap. The water comes out the ballast tank dropping the pressure. Because of the corrosion inside the line to the pressure switch the pressure stays up on the bottom of the switch which then slowly lets the pressure out (Like letting the air out a baloon slowly) and will reduce after the tank pressure has dropped. Then the pump will kick on and the pressure will build again. In a nutshell the corrosion is just not letting the pressure drop fast enough to keep up with the tank.
thanks for the info....now do i remove the switch to clean that properly
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 07:56 PM   #4
Building and plumbing
 
USP45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: farmville, VA
Posts: 244
Default

lost pressure for few minutes


Yes. After you remove the switch install a new line if needed. In an emergancy you could clear the clog, but since the pipe is already been subjected to corrosion it will build back up quick. next there is about 6 phillips screws holding a plate onto the switch that the pipe fits into. remove these and rinse in clean water, then re assemble. Just in case some of the crud had gotten from the pipe into the switch base, this will remove it.
USP45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 08:06 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11
Default

lost pressure for few minutes


Quote:
Originally Posted by USP45 View Post
Yes. After you remove the switch install a new line if needed. In an emergancy you could clear the clog, but since the pipe is already been subjected to corrosion it will build back up quick. next there is about 6 phillips screws holding a plate onto the switch that the pipe fits into. remove these and rinse in clean water, then re assemble. Just in case some of the crud had gotten from the pipe into the switch base, this will remove it.
thanks usp45 it sounds strait forward but i'm just not sure about the 1/2 copper line feedind the switch,,,do I just eye the corrison after inspecting the pipe and cut it off according to what i think is needed
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 08:09 PM   #6
Building and plumbing
 
USP45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: farmville, VA
Posts: 244
Default

lost pressure for few minutes


You need to remove it, then try blowing through it and see what happens.
USP45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 08:14 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11
Default

lost pressure for few minutes


Quote:
Originally Posted by USP45 View Post
You need to remove it, then try blowing through it and see what happens.
ok thxs again ...i will give that a shot ...have a good weekend usp45
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 08:18 PM   #8
Building and plumbing
 
USP45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: farmville, VA
Posts: 244
Default

lost pressure for few minutes


Ok, glad to help. If it don't work, holler back.
USP45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 11:18 PM   #9
Custom Cabinet Maker
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Netcong NJ
Posts: 1,097
Default

lost pressure for few minutes


One Important Thing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Turn Off The Power!!!!!!!!!!!!! Dont Touch It Live!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

skymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP - Lost water pressure to shower after turning off water to house jpw28 Plumbing 8 02-20-2008 08:07 PM
Pressure Fluctuation with well water beertestr Plumbing 5 10-03-2007 09:18 AM
pressure comes and goes caper Plumbing 3 08-20-2007 01:36 PM
High pressure in water line atlfiveo Plumbing 5 02-06-2007 09:04 PM
Help me understand my well... Alan Plumbing 5 09-04-2006 07:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.