Location For New Tankless Water Heater? - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-07-2010, 07:37 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Location for new Tankless water heater?

I'm a newbie here. Hoping someone with some experience installing tankless systems might be able to help me.

My old hot water tank just sprung a leak. I have decided to install a tankless hot water system. The old tank is adjacent to a bedroom and the exterior wall is shared with a garage. The new building code won't allow me to install a gas powered tank unless it is directly vented outside with an intake and exhaust. This is mainly because of the adjacent bedroom -- building code requirements won't allow you to sleep in a room where air is being drawn for a gas appliance.

I have attached a floor plan which should make understanding my suggested install easier.

I'm thinking of running the cold water supply line and gas line from the existing furnace room/tank area to the back of the house (through the ceiling of two closets). Once at the back of the house, I would like to install the new unit against the outside wall -- thereby allowing it to vent directly outside. I am also thinking i might as well install a bbq natural gas line at the same time since that back corner of the house has my deck. The hot water return would travel back to the exisiting furnace room/hot water tank area.

Does this seem feasible? The new location would not have a drain. Do you think this is a problem? Do the tankless emergency relief valves tend to be used? How about for servicing, is there a need to have a drain nearby? If I do not use this installation, I'm not sure what my alternatives are -- unless i revert back to an electric tank - ouch.

Any ideas/suggestions???
Attached Thumbnails
Location for new Tankless water heater?-new-tankless-system.jpg  

Advertisement