Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-08-2013, 06:41 AM   #1

Share |

Leaky tub mysteriously stopped leaking

I had a tub leak from trying to replace drain. Repairperson put plumber's putty around drain, ran shower for 10 minutes, and leak seemed fixed. Eight hours later, water was slowly dripping through a light fixture downstairs underneath the tub. They said that plumber's putty works immediately, so they'd have to remove drywall to see where leak was coming from. I've been using another tub in the meantime for several months. I tested the leaky tub last night before making the call to remove drywall, and not a single drip came through. Is it possible it was actually fixed in the first place? If plumber's putty works immediately, I don't understand how it continued to leak the day of the repair (when no water was run before the repair), but now it isn't leaking. Any ideas?

newhomeowner12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 07:01 AM   #2
DIY staff

I doubt if you got that lucky----open up the ceiling and look----or start using it and wait until you see a leak----but that may cause much more expensive damage that replacing a bit of drywall----

Old 06-08-2013, 07:53 AM   #3
Bill Kearney

Could be a leak that only shows up when there's a lot of weight in the tub. As in, with a person standing there taking a shower or when they're in a tub full of water.

But if you had a leak that eventually worked it's way over to a light fixture, and that's how you're detecting the leak, then there's probably water damage from the leak over to that fixture.

Is there an access panel on the wall behind the tub wet wall? If so, look in there to see what might be leaking. If not, that'd be the first place I'd chose to cut open drywall. For one, to see the extent of the water damage and leak and two, to be able to keep an eye on it in the future.