Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-13-2009, 01:51 PM   #1

Share |

Leaks from Washing Machine Spigots

I recently unhooked my washing machine to clean behind it. Now that I have hooked it back up and turned the hot and cold water back on, both lines are leaking from the wheel handle (as close as I can tell). This didn't happen before I moved it. Any suggestions to stop the leaks? As you can tell I'm not too good with plumbing.

Thanks
Chris

Leaks from Washing Machine Spigots-pict0045.jpg

Leaks from Washing Machine Spigots-pict0046.jpg

CandE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 01:53 PM   #2
Remodeling Contractor

Try opening and closing a few times to clear any debris. Next tighten the nut next to the handle. After that replace the seat washer. Still leaking buy a new one and just replace the inside mechanism.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 01:59 PM   #3

Thanks for the reply. I've tried tightening that but and it is as tight as I can get it. How do I replace the seat washer or replace the inside mechanism. Don't know much at all about plumbing.

Thanks
CandE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 02:40 PM   #4
Master General ReEngineer

Quote:
How do I replace the seat washer or replace the inside mechanism.
Ayuh,...

Turn the water off somewhere Up stream,...
And,..
Turn out the 2nd piece, away from the handle, that looks like a Nut,...
The Guts are just behind it...
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 02:44 PM   #5

Once you turn off the water supply and unscrew the packing nut, the handle should continue to unscrew and come out. This will pull out the stem packing and you can replace it. You'll probably have to remove the handle from the stem to install new packing.
bradnailer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 02:55 PM   #6