Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-17-2008, 09:28 PM   #1

Share |

Leaking T&P blowoff valve

The T&P blowoff valve on my 6 year old Whirlpool 50 gallon water heater is giving me fits.

I was running a lot of new water lines in the basement of my house today and decided to test the T&P while I was down there, just for good measure. Well, now the danged thing won't stop dripping. Probably three drips per second. Before I touched it, it has never dripped one bit.

I've tried everything I can think of with the little lever to get it to stop and it won't. It is a Watts brand T&P, and it came with the water heater.

Should I replace it, or is there a trick to this? I'm a pretty decent plumber, but haven't ever removed or replaced a T&P. Can you just crank them off?..There's nothing to grab ahold of besides the valve itself, and I'd hate to mess up something internal.

For the record, it did blow off when I checked it like it is supposed to.

Thanks!
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 09:33 PM   #2
Doing it myself

Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan

Sometimes when you monkey with them, they just won't close back up. I'm not sure if it's sediment or what that gets snagged inside, but we've seen this before, and try to avoid playing with them when the W/H isn't new.

You could try flushing a little more water through it to see if that might blow something through, but if all else fails, just grab a new one, 5 wraps of teflon, and thread that puppy in there. The tank has female threads on it, and a large crescent wrench, or a small to medium pipe wrench will pull it off.