Leaking Laundry Room Tap/valve Off Copper Pipe..... - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-11-2011, 05:23 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Leaking laundry room tap/valve off copper pipe.....

Hi all!

Please don't laugh too loud when you read this, but i need to ask. Complete newbie here having to deal with hot water loss in my laundry room. What it is is a tap right off the copper pipe that has a shot cartridge or the tap itself needs to be replaced. I have gone to the local hardware store and purchased a new tap and a new cartridge as well; thinking i'd try the cartridge first and if that didn't do it replace the whole tap. Not a big cash outlay so no big deal.

The thing is, the tap itself is so old and corroded that it will be a pain for me to get off. I did pick up some Lime Licker and some WD40 to loosen everything up to make the job easier.

On the way home I stopped again because i had forgotten to grab some Teflon tape just in case, so I made another stop and also(here it comes)grabbed a shut off for a garden hose. You know.....you screw the end of it onto your hose, and it has the little lever on the side to drop the ball inside the unit down to regulate the water supply on the other end....you can shut it right off so no water comes out if you want to.

Because it was only a $4 fix, and i was curious if it would work, I grabbed one. Its now on the leaking tap and I don't see any leaks.....the pipe is not even hot anymore because the water is not running to it.

Seems to be working so far.

The burning question: Am I going to damage anything using this quick fix? Its almost like adding a working shutoff to a leaky faucet via retro fit, i suppose.....without having to mess with the copper tubing.